LibGuides: MRI-Simmons: How-To Guide: MRI-Simmons Catalyst (formerly MRI-Simmons Insights)

Introducing MRI-Simmons Catalyst

Special Note About MRI-Simmons Platform Upgrade - Introducing Catalyst

MRI-Simmons recently updated the Insights platform (version 1.0) to the Catalyst platform (version 2.0). The database now defaults to the new Catalyst platform, which is easily recognizable by its purple color. To revert from Catalyst back to Insights, click on the [Launch 1.0] button in the top navigation bar. To switch from Insights to Catalyst, click on the [Launch 2.0] button.

The instructions provided here are for MRI-Simmons Catalyst. You can also find step-by-step instructions for MRI-Simmons Insights (1.0) in this guide.

Access MRI-Simmons Catalyst

Use the link below to access the MRI-Simmons database:

MRI Simmons Insights - 20 user limit This link opens in a new window
Note: 20 Simultaneous Users Limit. MRI-Simmons Insights allows a maximum of 20 simultaneous users. Please LOG OUT when you are finished using the database to free up space for others. During times of high usage the database may reach capacity and you will be prompted to try again late

About MRI-Simmons Catalyst

MRI-Simmons Catalyst (formerly MRI-Simmons Insights) provides access to consumer demographic, psychographic, brand preference, and media data from the MRI-Simmons USA Study and Simmons National Consumer Survey (NCS/NHCS). The surveys provide access to over 60,000 data elements:

detailed consumer demographic data
products and services usage for over 6,000 brands in more than 1,000 categories
1,000+ consumer attitudes & opinions
shopping and spending behavior
media and technology usage information
lifestyle segmentations

Use MRI-Simmons Catalyst to create Quick Reports and Crosstabs to:

Generate a demographic profile of your target consumer
Identify the target market for a product
Find out which consumers are more likely to use a specific brand, have a specific interest, or engage in a specific activity
Identify the best media channels to reach your target audience
Understand the psychographics (interests, opinions, attitudes, behaviors) associated with your target customer

The library has access to the following MRI-Simmons studies. Note: The library's subscription has a 2-year embargo from the study release date.

MRI-Simmons USA Study (Fall 2021-): Launched in 2021, this survey combines parts of two consumer studies (MRI's Survey of the American Consumer and Simmons' National Consumer Study). Provides demographics, psychographics, products & services usage, purchase behaviors, and media usage for US adult (18+) consumers. Measures of 50,000+ U.S. Adults, 6,500+ Brands, 1,000+ Product Categories, and more.
NHCS Adult Study (Fall 2019-Fall 2020): demographics, psychographics, products & services usage, purchase behaviors, and media usage for US adult (18+) consumers. The library's subscription provides access to the Fall releases of the Adult 6-month and Adult 12-month studies. Note: NHCS Study ceased with Fall 2020 NHCS Adult Study 12-month. Now use MRI-Simmons USA Study.
MRI-Simmons Connect: (2021- ): includes all MRI-Simmons USA study data plus additional data on consumers’ use of 10 traditional and digital media platforms, including reach, time spent, and activity measures.
Simmons Connect Plus (2019-2020): includes all NHCS study data plus additional data on consumers’ use of 11 traditional and digital media platforms, including reach, time spent, and activity measures. Note: Ceased with the Fall 2020 Simmons Connect Plus. Now use MRI-Simmons Connect.