LibGuides: Company Research Guide: Market Share

Market Share Reporter

Market Share Reporter is an annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products, and services. The market share data is pulled together from a variety of sources, including journals, magazines and newspapers. There are over 2,000 entries arranged by SIC Code, with indexes provided for company name, brand name, products and services description, and NAICS code.

ONLINE ACCESS: Market Share Reporter is available online via the Gale: Business Insights database.

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search Tip: Type a company name or ticker symbol into the search box and choose a company from the list of suggestions to retrieve a company profile. Scroll down to the "Company Articles" section and look for a link to Market Share/Rankings to retrieve results from "Business Rankings Annual" and "Market Share Reporter".

Other Market Share Resources

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Most Mintel market reports include information on market share.
IBISWorld Industries and Markets This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides reports for 700+ U.S. industries as categorized by NAICS.

Search Tip: Check the "Companies" section of an industry report for market share information.

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor is a global market research database providing reports, analysis, insights, and statistics on consumers, industries, and countries.
Registration required: Bentley users must complete a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor.

Search Tip: On the landing page, use the [EXPLORE CATEGORIES] drop-down box to select "Industries", then click GO. Make your selections from the Industries tree, then click NEXT to select GEOGRAPHIES. When done, click SEARCH. You will see three pages of results - STATISTICS, ANALYSIS, and DASHBOARDS. On the STATISTICS page you will find Market Sizes, Company Shares, and Brand Share.

S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window

The CFRA Industry Surveys available in this database provide a variety of statistical data for industries, often including graphs or charts giving market share.

Search Tip for industry surveys: There are 2 ways to search: (1) Click on [Industries] in the top menu bar and use the drop-down box select your industry, OR (2) enter a company's name in the search box, then select [Industry Survey] from the left navigation menu.
Search Tip for researching sub-industries: Click the [Markets] tab in the top menu bar. Then, on the far right side of your screen, click on [Refine Industries]. In the pop-up box drill-down and check your selected sub-industry, then click [Submit]. Use the left hand column for different sets of data on that sub-industry such as key stats & ratios, company level comparisons/financial operating metrics, news, etc.

MarketLine Reports via Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Find information about a company's market share & competitors in MarketLine Company Profiles.

Search Tip: Click on [Company Profiles]. Enter the company name in the search box then click [Browse]. Locate your company & click on [MarketLine Report].

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window

Search Tip: Look up a company and click on the [Competitors] tab to view the company in a ranked list of its competitors.

Search Tip: The [Report Builder] tab allows you to create custom reports, including company-industry comparison reports.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal, aggregating data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. In addition to statistics, this database provides industry and market reports, including market insights for up to 152 countries and territories, consumer insights from 56 countries and territories, and coverage of businesses from 200+ countries and territories.