LibGuides: Company Research Guide: Financial Information

Public Companies: Annual Reports, SEC Filings, and Financials

You can you usually locate a public company's 10-K and other SEC Filings on the "Investor" section of the company's web site. The following library databases also contain 10-Ks, SEC filings, and other financial information.

D&B Hoovers - 50 user limit This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers enables users to make custom lists and reports for US and international company research, sales prospecting, and more. Find personal contact information, news, wirefeeds, and company and industry information such as SEC filings, market research reports, analyst reports, and SWOT analyses.

Note: If you receive an error message, try opening the database link in an incognito or private browsing window. Contact the Reference Desk if you are unable to connect.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 non-U.S. public companies (active and inactive). The D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company database is also included.

Search Tip: Use the [Government Filings] page to search for SEC filings
Search Tip: The [Company Details] page consists of ten sub-pages, detailing various aspects of the company. Information includes a business summary, company history, list of properties owned by the company, subsidiaries (including percentage owned and geographic location), business segments (the business and geographic revenue analyses for major segments of the company’s business operations), financials, long-term debt, capital stock and earnings estimates.
Search Tip: Use the [Investext] page to access investment research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms.
Search Tip: The [Report Builder] page allows you to create custom reports, including company-industry comparison reports.

Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Mergent Archives provides access to Mergent's Historical Annual Reports collection, which offers over 700,000 documents available in .PDF format for the United States, Canada and Europe dating back to the early 1900s, and the full collection of digitized Moody's Corporate and Municipal Manuals published since 1909.

Industrial Manual since 1920
OTC Unlisted Manual since 1986
Public Utility Manual since 1981
International Manual since 1970
OTC Industrial Manual since 1970
Bank & Finance Manual since 1928
Transportation Manual since 1909
Municipal Manuals since 1918

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window

Search Tip: At the top of the Nexis Uni page, click on [Menu], then select [Company Dossier]. Search using the company's name or ticker symbol. Then, on the left side of company profile page, click on [SEC Filings].

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect offers comprehensive data on companies, industries, demographics, consumer lifestyles, people, and jobs. Among its specialized offerings are: information on over 245 million domestic and international public and private companies; First Research industry profiles; Nielsen PRIZM demographic and consumer reports; North American census data, searchable by geographic area; residential contact and lifestyle data for U.S. residents; and job listings for companies in the U.S. and Canada. Users may also access D&B Key Business Ratios from this database.

Private Companies: Financials

Top pick for small private companies:

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo provides private company financial data including M&A activity, investor information, private equity and venture capital data. It covers over 225,000 private companies, 11,000 investors, and over 80,000 private market M&A deals and funding rounds. Database strengths include the ability to search by niche industry for private companies, and to find specific investors for targeted industries.

Additional resources that may provide financial information for some private companies:

D&B Hoovers - 50 user limit This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers enables users to make custom lists and reports for US and international company research, sales prospecting, and more. Find personal contact information, news, wirefeeds, and company and industry information such as SEC filings, market research reports, analyst reports, and SWOT analyses.

Note: If you receive an error message, try opening the database link in an incognito or private browsing window. Contact the Reference Desk if you are unable to connect.

Hoover's Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Hoover's Company Profiles features profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search Tip: Retrieve a Company Dossier. At the top of the Nexis Uni page, click on [Menu], then select [Company Dossier]. Search using the company's name or ticker symbol.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides a searchable interface for current content from the following Mergent Manuals: Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, Public Utility & Transportation, OTC Industrial and OTC Unlisted. Inactive (no longer traded) companies, on both US and international exchanges, are also included. The BondViewer contains a wide-range of bond data, involving both issuer and issue-level terms and conditions for U.S. taxable bonds, municipal bonds and retail notes. The D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company database is also included.
Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Data Axle (formerly ReferenceUSA) contains detailed company descriptions, corporate family trees, management directories, and competitor information for more than 20 million U.S. businesses. Users may build custom searches to help identify and compare companies. Custom search options include business type, geography, business size and ownership type.

Trading Room Resources

Visit the Trading Room for access to other information resources such as Morningstar, Bloomberg, Capital IQ, FactSet, and Datastream.

Bentley Trading Room