This is the "Citing Business Resources - APA Reference List Examples" page of the "Citing Online Business Resources using APA Style [Library Research Guide]" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Online Business Resources using APA Style [Library Research Guide]   Tags: apa style, citations, citing sources  

This Bentley Library research guide provides examples of how to cite business databases and web sites in APA style.
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bentley.edu/citingsources-apa Print Guide RSS Updates

Citing Business Resources - APA Reference List Examples Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Article from a Library Database that Doesn't Use DOI (e.g. ABI Inform - ProQuest)

Journal Article:

Arruda-Filho, E., Cabusas, J., & Dholakia, N. (2010). Social behavior and brand devotion among iPhone innovators. International Journal of Information Management, 30(6), 475-480.

Magazine Article:

Barkin, E. (2010, April). Jetting to greener pastures. Customer Relationship Management, 14(4), 30-33,36.

Newspaper Article:

Burkitt, L. (2010, December 16). McDonald's joins the line looking to expand in China. Wall Street Journal [Eastern edition], p. B.8. 

 

Article from a Library Database that Does Use DOI (e.g. Management & Organization Studies)

Holland, C. P. (1995). Cooperative supply chain management: The impact of interorganizational information systems. The Journal of Strategic Information Systems, 4(2), 117-133. doi:10.1016/0963-8687(95)80020-Q  

 

Article from a "Free Web" or Open Access Periodical

Wang, J., Meric, G., Liu, Z, & Meric, I. (2010). A comparison of the determinants of stock returns in the 1987 and 2008 stock market meltdowns. Banking and Finance Review 2(1), 15-26. Retrieved from http://www.bankingandfinancereview.com/ojs/index.php/bfr

 

Books & eBooks

Basic Format for Print Books:

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Location: Publisher.

Lewis, R. & Dart, M. (2010). The new rules of retail: Competing in the world's toughest marketplace. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

Format for eBooks Retrieved from Library Databases (e.g. Safari Books, Books 24x7, EBSCO eBooks & Overdrive):

  • We advise that you cite an eBook the same way that you would cite a print book (omitting information not provided), unless that eBook is not readily available in print format. Most eBooks retrieved from a library database (e.g. Safari Books, Books 24x7, EBSCO eBooks & Overdrive) are readily available in print.

Sternberg, R. J., & Kaufman, J. C. (2001). The evolution of intelligence. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

  • If you choose, or if your professor requests it, you may add the name of the database from which you obtained the eBook.

Sternberg, R. J., & Kaufman, J. C. (2001). The evolution of intelligence. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. Retrieved from EBSCO eBooks database.

Format for eBooks Retreived from a Website:

  • Follow the standard format (omitting information not provided) and include the eBook source (URL or DOI).

Barton, Clara. (1904). A story of the Red Cross: Glimpses of field work. New York: D. Appleton and Company. Retrieved from http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/30230

 

Ad$pender

Kantar Media. (2014). Swiffer: Media mix report, annual, 2013 [Data]. Retrieved March 1, 2014, from Ad$pender database.

Kantar Media. (2014). Apple iPad, iPhone and iPod: Trend report, annual, 2009-2013 [Data]. Retrieved March 14, 2014 from Ad$pender database.

Kantar Media. (2014). Cars, domestic factory: Sales & leasing: Media mix report, 2013 [Data]. Retrieved March 1, 2014, from Ad$pender database.

Kantar Media. (2014). Allstate Auto Insurance: Media mix report, by quarter, 2009-2013 [Data]. Retrieved March 1, 2014, from Ad$pender database.

 

Business Insights: Essentials - Company Profile

Gale Cengage Learning. (n.d.). Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved January 12, 2011, from Business Insights: Essentials database.

 

DemographicsNow

DemographicsNow. (2012). Boston, MA demographic detail summary [Data]. Retrieved June 21, 2012, from DemographicsNow database.

DemographicsNow. (2012). Boston, MA and San Francisco household comparison [Data]. Retrieved May 1, 2012, from DemographicsNow database.

DemographicsNow. (2012). Whole Foods [Company profile]. Retrieved June, 17 2012, from DemographicsNow database.

DemographicsNow. (2012). Custom business search, NAICS Code 447 (gasoline stations) in Middlesex County, MA [Data]. Retrieved June 21, 2012, from DemographicsNow database.

 

eMarketer

eMarketer. (2014, September). US digital video ad spending, 2012-2018 [Chart]. Retrieved from eMarketer database.

Orsini, P. (2013, November 27). The luxury consumer: Shoppers lead brands to digital channels. Retrieved from eMarketer database.

Verna, P. (2012, November 15). Social video: The next wave in digital advertising [Webinar]. Retrieved from eMarketer database.

 

Euromonitor Passport GMID

Euromonitor International. (2011, January 10). American Airlines fights the distribution model. Retrieved from Euromonitor Passport GMID database. 

Euromonitor International. (2010, July 22). Mobile phones - US. Retrieved from Euromonitor Passport GMID database.

Euromonitor International. (n.d.). Consumer lifestyles in the US. Retrieved January 10, 2011, from Euromonitor Passport GMID database.

Euromonitor International. (2010, March 15). Starbucks Corp - hot drinks - USA. Retrieved from Euromonitor Passport GMID database.

 

FactSet

FactSet Research Systems. (n.d.). Apple, Inc.: Broker estimates. Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FactSet database.

FactSet Research Systems. (n.d.). Apple, Inc.: Comparative statistics. Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FactSet database.

FactSet Research Systems. (n.d.). Apple, Inc.: Targets and ratings. Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FactSet database.

Apple, Inc. (2011, September 24). Form 10-K. Retrieved from FactSet database.

 

FASB Codification

Reference List examples:

Citing the Codification:

FASB (Financial Accounting Standards Board). (n.d.). Accounting Standards Codification (ASC). Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FASB Accounting Standards Codification database.

Citing a section of the Codification:

FASB (Financial Accounting Standards Board). (n.d.). ASC 605-50-45-1. Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FASB Accounting Standards Codification database.

Citing an Accounting Standards Update, Exposure Document or Other Source from the Codification:

FASB (Financial Accounting Standards Board). (2012, October 24). Accounting Standards Update (ASU) No. 2012-07. Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FASB Accounting Standards Codification database.

In text citation example:

(FASB, ASC 605-50-45-1)

(FASB, ASU 2012-07)

 

Forrester Research

Ray, A. (2011, January 4). 2011: Now social media marketing gets tough. Saturation, stagnation, and privacy concerns challenge social media marketers. Retrieved from Forrester Research database.

 

Gartner

Klappich, C. D., & Eschinger, C. (2010, November 18). Oracle OpenWorld 2010: Oracle supply chain management on the move (ID: G00208462). Retrieved from Gartner database.

 

IBISWorld

Dai, R. (2010, November). IT consulting in the US: IBISWorld industry report 54151. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

 

IHS Connect (formerly Global Insight)

IHS Global Insight Inc. (2014, February 24). Greece: Country Intelligence Report. Retrieved from IHS Global Insight database.

IHS Global Insight Inc. (2014, March 13). World Bank joins international efforts to bail out Ukraine. Retrieved from IHS Global Insight database.

 

LexisNexis Academic - Company Dossiers

LexisNexis company dossiers pull together information from different sources (e.g. Hoover's and Disclosure).  Cite the appropriate publisher of the information you used.  Articles retrieved from LexisNexis Academic are cited according the guidelines for "Article from a Library Database that Doesn't Use DOI", as shown in the top box on this page.

Hoover's Inc. (2011, January 4). Johnson & Johnson. Hoover's Company Records - In-depth records. Retrieved from LexisNexis Academic database.

 

MarketLine Report (formerly Datamonitor) retrieved from Business Source Complete

MarketLine. (2013, April 29). NIKE, Inc.: Company profile. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

MarketLine. (2013, March). Footwear in the United States: MarketLine industry profile. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database. 

 

Mediamark Reporter

GfK Mediamark Research & Intelligence. (2009, Fall Product Report). Fast food & drive-in restaurants bought at last 6 months total. Base: Adults.  Retrieved from MRI Mediamark Reporter database.

 

MergentArchives

Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. (2011). Industry norms and key business ratios. Retrieved from MergentArchives database.

Whole Foods Market. (2011, September 25). 2011 Annual report. Retrieved from MergentArchives database.

Apple Inc. (2011, September 24). Form 10-K. Retrieved from MergentArchives database.

 

Mergent Online

Apple Inc. (2013, October 30). Form 10-K. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (n.d.). Apple, Inc.: Business segments. Retrieved January 12, 2014, from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (n.d.) Apple, Inc.: Financial details report. Retrieved January 12, 2014, from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (2014, February 28). McDonald's Corp.: Ford Equity research report. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (n.d.). Microsoft Corporation: Full company report. Retrieved March 13, 2014, from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Inc. (2014, February). North American food and beverage sectors industry reportRetrieved from Mergent Online database.

 

Mintel

Romanowski, S. (2012, November). Sun protection and sunless tanners - US. Retrieved from Mintel Oxygen database.

 

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Google, Inc. (2011, December 31). Form 10-K. Retrieved from Morningstar Investment Research database.

Morningstar. (2014, February 28) Fidelity Blue Chip Growth: Rating and riskRetrieved from Morningstar Investment Research database.

Morningstar. (n.d.). Google: Key ratios. Retrieved March 13, 2014, from Morningstar Investment Research database.

Reichart, K. R. (2014, March 6). Fidelity Blue Chip Growth: Fund analyst report. Retrieved from Morningstar Investment Research database.

Summer, R. (2014, February 25). Google, Inc.: Stock analyst report. Retrieved from Morningstar Investment Research database.

 

Plunkett's

Plunkett Research Ltd. (2010, December 16). Hybrid cars gain market share.  Automobiles & Trucks Industry: Market Research and Trends. Retrieved from Plunkett's Research Online database.

 

PrivCo

PrivCo.(2014, February 11). Pinterest Inc.: Private company financial report. Retrieved March 14, 2014, from PrivCo database.

PrivCo.(2008, February). Spotify Ltd. receives Series A investment from Creandum AB, Li Ka-Shing, Northzone Ventures, and others. Retrieved August 20, 2013, from PrivCo database.

 

ReferenceUSA

Infogroup, Inc. (n.d.). Starbucks Corp [Company profile]. Retrieved October 4, 2010, from ReferenceUSA database.

 

Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA)

Miller, R. K., & Washington, K. (2013). Entertainment, media & advertising market research handbook 2013-2014. Loganville, GA: Richard K. Miller & Associates.

 

SBRnet

Tables/Data Examples:

National Sporting Goods Association. (n.d.). Participation (ages 7+) ranking: Females (no. of part. in thous.) [Data]. Retrieved January 29, 2014, from SBRnet database.

SBRNet. (n.d.). Sports fan market/market size, by sport: Number of fans. [Data]. Retrieved March 13, 2014, from SBRnet database.

 

Articles/Reports Examples:

February outdoor product sales slip on continued footwear weakness... (2104, March 10). The B.O.S.S. Report. Retrieved from SBRnet database.

RSV pro facilities report: Boston Red Sox. (2014, March). Retrieved from SBRnet database.

 

SRDS

SRDS. (n.d.). Advertising Age [Publication profile]. Business Media Advertising Source. Retrieved January 5, 2011, from SRDS Media Solutions database.

SRDS. (n.d.). The Boston Globe [Publication profile]. Newspaper Advertising Source. Retrieved November 30, 2010, from SRDS Media Solutions database.

Claritas, Inc. (2010). Boston, MA/Manchester, NH [DMA profile]. Radio Advertising Source.  Retrieved December 14, 2010, from SRDS Media Solutions database.

 

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Basham, M. (2010, September 2). Restaurants. Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Retrieved from Standard & Poor's Net Advantage database.

Standard & Poor's. (2011, January 8). Bank of America Corp. Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. Retrieved from Standard & Poor's Net Advantage database.

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)

Bureau of Census (2013). Table 281: College enrollment by sex, age, race, and Hispanic origin: 1980 to 2011 [selected years], In ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States: 2013. Retrieved from ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States database. 

Bureau of Transportation Statistics (Department of Transportation) (2013). Table 940: Energy consumption by mode of transportation: 2000 to 2010 [selected years], In ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States: 2013. Retrieved from ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States database.

 

Thomson ONE

Google Inc. (2009, December 31). Annual report.  Retrieved from Thomson ONE database.

Google Inc. (2010, September 30). Form 10-Q. Retrieved from Thomson ONE database.

 

U.S. Census / American Factfinder

U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). ZCTA5 02451, QT-P11 - Households and Families: 2010 [Data]. Census 2010 Summary File 1. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov

U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Middlesex County, Massachsuetts, DP-1 Profile of General Population and Housing Characteristics: 2010 [Data]. 2010 Demographic Profile Data. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov

U.S. Census Bureau. (2006-2010).  Boston city, Massachusetts, DP02 Selected social characteristics in the United States [Data]. 2010 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov

U.S. Census Bureau. (2008). Middlesex County, MA [Data]. 2008 County Business Patterns. Retrieved from http://www.census.gov/econ/cbp/index.html

 

Value Line

Value Line Publishing. (2010, November 26). Ford Motor. Value Line Investment Survey.  Retrieved from Value Line database.

 

Web Sites

Web page citation follows this basic format:  

Author, A. (date). Title of document. Retrieved from http://URL

Web page:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2009). CDC recommendations for the amount of time persons with influenza-like illness should be away from others. Retrieved from http://www.cdc.gov/h1n1flu/guidance/exclusion.htm

Web page where no author is identified:

All 33 Chile miners freed in flawless rescue. (2010, October 13). Retrieved from http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/39625809/ns/world_news-americas/

Web page where no date is identified:

The College of William and Mary. (n.d.). College mission statement. Retrieved from http://www.wm.edu/about/administration/provost/mission/index.php

 

World Development Indicators (WDI)

World Bank Group. (n.d.). United Kingdom [Data].  Retrieved December 12, 2010, from World Development Indicators (WDI) database.

World Bank Group. (n.d.). Health expenditure per capita [Data]. Retrieved January 5, 2011, from World Development Indicators (WDI) database.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip