LibGuides: Advertising Research Guide: Media Planning: Demographics

United States Demographics

U.S. Census Data
The U.S. Census provides demographic and economic data from the following surveys and censuses: American Community Survey, County Business Patterns, Decennial Census, Economic Census, and others. Free resource.
Statista
Statista is a statistics portal, aggregating data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. In addition to statistics, this database provides industry and market reports, including market insights for up to 152 countries and territories, consumer insights from 56 countries and territories, and coverage of businesses from 200+ countries and territories.
Euromonitor Passport
Euromonitor is a global market research database providing reports, analysis, insights, and statistics on consumers, industries, and countries.
Registration required: Bentley users must complete a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor.

Search Tip 1:
1. In the top navigation bar, click on [Consumers]. Next, select a subtopic from the menu (Households; Income and Expenditure; Lifestyles; Population).
2. In the [Latest Reports] section, click on View All. Use the filters on the left side of the page to start by selecting a geography. Browse the results and use additional filters as needed. Note: When choosing an analysis type, start with a Country Report (if available), then explore the other types of analysis.
Search Tip 2: On the landing page, use the [Explore Categories] to choose [Consumers]. Browse the Consumers category tree to select categories and then choose a geography. On the results page, click on the [Analysis] tab to browse reports and briefings.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The site provides data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a geographic mapping and data tool. It contains 75,000+ geographic indicators across demographics, housing, economic conditions, infrastructure, education, environment, health, and social determinants of health from more than 170 public and proprietary sources. Users can create custom maps, layer multiple indicators, upload and download data, generate reports, and more.
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect provides Claritas demographic reports by geographic place (DMA, county, or state). Data includes statistics on the area's population, including age, race, gender, income and more.

Search Tip: On the landing page click on the [Demographics] tile. Choose a geographic region - county, zip code (compare up to 4 codes), or place/city. Available reports:
- Pop-Facts Demographics Reports: Demographic Quick Facts; Population Quick Facts; Demographic Trend; Household Income By Age; Demographic Snapshot; Effective Buying Income; Demographics By Age Race Sex; Household Quick Facts; Demographic Overview; Executive Summary; and Senior Life
- PRIZM Household Distribution Report

MRI-Simmons Insights database

MRI-Simmons Catalyst (formerly MRI-Simmons Insights) provides access to consumer demographic, psychographic, brand preference, and media data from the MRI-Simmons USA Study and Simmons National Consumer Survey (NCS/NHCS). The surveys provide access to over 60,000 data elements:

detailed consumer demographic data
products and services usage for over 6,000 brands in more than 1,000 categories
1,000+ consumer attitudes & opinions
shopping and spending behavior
media and technology usage information
lifestyle segmentations

How to Access MRI-Simmons

Use the link below to access the database. MRI-Simmons allows a maximum of 50 simultaneous users. Please LOG OUT when you are finished using the database to free up space for others. During times of high usage the database may reach capacity and you will be prompted to try again later.

MRI Simmons Catalyst - 50 user limit

How to Use MRI-Simmons

To learn how to use MRI-Simmons to create and understand Quick Reports and Crosstabs visit the MRI-Simmons How-To guide:

MRI-Simmons: How-To Guide
by Lisa Curtin Last Updated Sep 15, 2025 4475 views this year

Learn to:

Generate a demographic profile of your target consumer
Identify the target market for a product
Find out which consumers are more likely to use a specific brand, have a specific interest, or engage in a specific activity
Identify the best media channels to reach your target audience
Understand the psychographics (interests, opinions, attitudes, behaviors) associated with your target customer