LibGuides: United States Government Data Preservation: CDC and Health Data

Overview CDC and Health

Banner displayed on the National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program webpage.

According to a March 2025 article in the New England Journal of Medicine, "Health data hosted by the U.S. federal government have been disappearing. According to our analysis, between January 21 and February 11, 2025, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) removed 203 datasets (13% of its online datasets, a reduction from 1519 to 1316). The situation is dynamic; various datasets have been removed, restored, manipulated, or not posted as planned."

These data are crucial for health care practitioners, policy makers, scientists, and researchers to measure social determinants of health, promote innovation in health science, and advance public health initiatives.

DataLumos
Find the latest Fluoridation Statistics, Wastewater Data for Influenza, COVID-19 Death Counts, among other datasets published by United States Department of Health and Human Services.
Data Rescue Project
Access 286 Health and Healthcare datasets from the CDC and CMS on everything from AIDS Drug Assistance Programs to Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System.
Find Lost Data
Boston University School of Public Health provides an easy way to search for datasets across various sites, including The Internet Archive, Harvard Dataverse, DataLumos, and more for CDC datasets and replicas of government health websites.
Harvard Dataverse
Access to over 13,000 medicine, health, and life sciences collections of datasets to share, download, and archive.
Internet Archive
An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.
Tracking Government Information
Tracking actions by the current administration that impact government information, such as: removed or modified documents and websites; language censorship; suspension or elimination of agencies, program, funding, or services; and collection of government data.