Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MK401: Fall 2021 (Flynn)

This research guide has been created for students taking MK401 with Professor Erin Flynn during the Fall 2021 semester.

Sports Market Analytics (SMA) database

Use the Sports Market Analytics (SMA) database to find sports participation and consumer expenditure data.

Recommended data:

  • Sports Participation: Choose a sport from the drop-down list in the top navigation bar, or click the link for participation data on the left side of the screen.
    • participation data is available for CORE Participants and CASUAL Participants by age, gender, household income, and geographic region.
  • Consumer Expenditures for Footwear & Equipment: Choose a sport from the drop-down list in the top navigation bar, or click the link for Apparel/Equipment/Footwear on the left side of the screen.
    • consumer expenditure data is available by age group, education of head of household, gender, geographic region, household income, brand, price point, and outlet type (sporting good store, specialty retailer, etc.).

Recommended reports:

To find these reports, click on Newsstand in the top navigation bar, then choose Special Reports.

  • 2020 SFIA Manufacturers Sales by Category Report
    • This industry report from the Sport and Fitness Industry Association (SFIA) provides a topline overview of sports and fitness products wholesale dollars for 30 categories of sporting and fitness goods ranging from athletic footwear and apparel to equipment.
  • 2021 Sports, Fitness, and Leisure Activities Topline Participation Report: Click on Newsstand in the top navigation bar, then choose Special Reports.
    • This report from the Sport and Fitness Industry Association (SFIA) is the source of the participation data referenced above. It also provides an overview of sports and activity participation trends, inactivity levels, aspirational participation, and the impact of COVID-19 on participation.

Statista database

Start with these recommended reports and also explore the database for additional current statistics on sport participation and consumer purchases.

Euromonitor database

Start with the reports listed below, and explore the database for additional information related to your topics. 
Note: If you are prompted to login to Euromonitor, choose the "Single Sign On" option, then use your Bentley email address.

Recommended reports:

  • Sportswear in the US - Country Report (February 2021)
    • Note: Sportswear is an aggregation of performance, outdoor and sports-inspired clothing and footwear. Sportswear includes products designed for all ages including sportswear for children. Sportswear includes items across all clothing and footwear categories: shorts and trousers, dresses and skirts, tops, jumpers, jackets & coats, track suits/athletic sets, underwear, swimwear, hosiery, accessories including headwear, gloves, scarves.
  • Footwear in the US - Country Report (February 2021)
  • Apparel and Footwear in the US - Country Report (February 2021)
  • Apparel and Footwear Specialist Retailers in the US - Country Report (February 2021)

Trade & Professional Associations: Reports, Analysis & Data