LibGuides: Static Linking: ProQuest

About ProQuest Databases

ProQuest allows users to create static links to documents. ProQuest refers to their static links as Document URL. The links can be found on the citation page to any ProQuest document. ProQuest provides links to full-text documents and abstracts that can be placed in a Brightspace course website, a document, or an online bibliography.

You can access our ProQuest databases from our Databases A-Z page. [ Full List of ProQuest Databases ]

The Bentley Library's ProQuest databases default to the Advanced Search option. Advanced Search provides searchers with multiple search options and limiters. The "Help" link at the top, right-hand side of the search page provides information and tips to help the searcher use all of the ProQuest search features.

While much of the content available via ProQuest is provided in full-text HTML or full-text PDF formats, there are occasions when a search may return the abstracts of published articles. If you intend to link to the full-text of an article please make sure that the full-text of that article is available.

Note: The directions below will work for the majority of our ProQuest Databases with two exceptions:

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Stable links to books on the Ebook Central (ProQuest) platform are available for each book. Locate the Share Link to Book tool on the book's homepage on the platform for a shareable link. This link is configured for both on and off campus use.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Stable links to each table in the Statistical Abstract are available by locating the Durable URL under the table near the citation information. The Durable URL is not configured for off-campus use and will need to be configured by adding the proxy tag at the front of the URL. See Marking Links Available for Remote Users for more information.

Locating Document URLs in ProQuest

Step 1:

After selecting the ProQuest database(s) to be searched, enter the search terms and limiters and on the search page and click the "Search" button.

Step 2:

Once your results are returned you can go through and locate the items for which you would like to create static (durable) links.

Step 3:

Locate the "Abstract/Details" information for the item.

When on the results list, you can find this under the item title and partial citation information near the full text/availability options:

If you clicked the title of the item to be brought to the item record/full text, use the options on the left side of the screen to locate the "Abstract/Details".

Locate the "Document URL" section on the Abstract/Details page. You can copy and paste this URL where needed.

NOTE: The document URL will already be configured for both on- and off-campus use. Any Bentley student, faculty, or staff member will be able to access the article or other item by clicking on the link. If off-campus, the user may be prompted to enter their Bentley email address and password first.