Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Static Linking: Home

This guide is designed to provide faculty with help linking content from EBSCOHost, ProQuest and JSTOR in Blackboard or online bibliographies.

Static Links

Static or Persistent links allow users to create links to documents and citations from some Bentley Library electronic resources to Blackboard course sites, websites, online bibliographies, and documents with HTML formatting.  When combined with the Library's proxy server tag most of the linked resources can be made available to remote users.  

In most cases, users should not copy links from their browser's address bar.  These links are not static and will not work after the browser is closed or timed out. 

Popular library resources that provide stable links include:

If you have questions about linking, including if persistent links are available for content outside of the resources listed on this guide, please contact the Bentley Library Reference Desk at refdesk@bentley.edu or 781.891.2300.

Best Practices When Linking to Library Resources

Here are some of our tips on how to effectively link to some of our resources:

  • Don't just provide a link. Give students the relevant information to help them track down the source if the link breaks. Titles, authors, publication titles, or the name of the database it is contained in can help students locate the resource on their own if the link is not functioning properly.
  • Make sure that the link is configured for off-campus use. See Making Links Available for Remote Users for tips on what to look for in the URL. 
  • Remind students that they can sign up for free New York TimesWall Street Journal, and Financial Times digital subscription accounts via the library if you require students to read articles from those publications. Directions on how to register for these accounts are located on our Current News guide.

Course Reserves

Our Course Reserves service is available to assist faculty with providing correct links and documentation to items in our collections within your course site. If you have any questions, reach out to Anne Jorgensen (ajorgensen@bentley.edu or ext. 2317). 

Search for full text of Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

The Bentley Library Journal Search allows users to search for electronic and print versions of journals in many the of the Library's databases and from our print subscriptions.

Users can search the Journal Finder using the title of the the journal that they are interested in reading. 

The Journal Finder will provide holdings information (date ranges and ISSN) and location information for various publications in the library's collections. For titles that are available electronically, links to databases that provide full text of that publication will be included.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Stephen Tracey
Contact:
Bentley University Library
175 Forest Street
Waltham, MA 02452
781.891.2302
Website