Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current News

This guide offers a starting point in finding current news publications via the Bentley Library. Includes U.S. news, international news, and more. Includes directions on how to register for NYT, WSJ, and FT accounts.

Welcome!

This guide is designed to assist members of the Bentley University community in using the Library's resources to locate current news. While this guide mainly provides resources on how to access news online, the Bentley Library does still have some publications in print. 

To find out if we have a particular publication available in print in the current periodicals area of the main floor of the library, search the Bentley Library Catalog. Note: Current Periodicals are not available for check out and must be read in the library.

If you need any help or have questions, please contact a Bentley Library reference librarian for research help.

Stack of newspapers

Image Credit: Ink Stained Wretches. By Jeff Eaton, 2012, (Flickr). Used under Creative Commons License CC BY-SA 2.0.

Financial Times Online Access

FINANCIAL TIMES

New Fall 2019! The Bentley Library now provides access to the Financial Times via ft.com! Visit the Financial Times Online Access page in this guide for details on how to register for an account.

New York Times Online Access

New York Times logo

Did you know that the Bentley Library provides access to nytimes.com for free for current students, faculty, and staff? It's true! 

Directions on how to sign up for an account are located on the New York Times Online Access page in this guide.

Wall Street Journal Online Access

Wall Street Journal Logo

Sign up for a free Wall Street Journal wsj.com account sponsored by the Bentley Library! Accounts are available to current students, faculty, and staff.

Visit the Wall Street Journal Online Access page to sign up for an account.

U.S. Newspapers & Newswires

The following library databases provide access to news and newspaper publications. If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your Bentley credentials to access these resources.

The following website allows you to browse front pages of newspapers in the U.S. and worldwide each day:

International News

The following library databases provide access to international news and newspaper publications. If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your Bentley credentials to access these resources.

The Center for Languages and International Collaboration (CLIC) also has a list of Japanese, French, Portuguese, Chinese, and Spanish news sources on their website:

Looking for a specific publication not listed on this guide?

While you can do a Google Search to find the websites of specific publications, you may come across embargoes or have limited access to that publication's content.

Use the Journal Finder in the main search box on the library homepage to find out if we have access to that publication online, which database has that particular publication, and dates of coverage. To search, enter the title of the publication in the Journal Finder box.

SearchBoxJournalFinder

View our "Using the Journal Finder Search" Video Tutorial for Step-by-Step Instructions!

To find out if we have a particular publication available in print in the current periodicals area of the main floor of the library, search the Bentley Library Catalog. Note: Current Periodicals are not available for check out and must be read in the library. 

News Portals, Indexes, & Aggregators

Want to browse multiple publications at the same time? Find other publications on the web? Visit some of these online resources:

Topical News Sources

Many of the periodical/article databases that Bentley Library offers include news publication coverage in the subject area the database covers. Visit the Databases A-Z to browse databases by a subject area of interest to you. Descriptions of each database will inform you if those databases include news publications. Below are some examples of databases with news publications based on subject area.

Business News Sources

Accounting & Tax News Sources

Politics & Government News Sources

Environment News

Television & Radio News Program Transcripts

The following library databases contain broadcast transcripts:

Depending on the source, news organizations may make their transcripts available online. Below are a couple of examples of sites where transcripts are available (others may be found through a Google Search):

Need Research Help?

Bentley Reference librarians are here to assist. Contact us for research help:

Phone 781.891.2300
Text 781.728.0511
Email refdesk@bentley.edu

You can also Chat/IM with a librarian:

 

Research Consultations with a librarian are also available. Schedule an appointment here. 48 hours advance notice appreciated.