Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current News

This guide offers a starting point in finding current news publications via the Bentley Library. Includes U.S. news, international news, and more. Includes directions on how to register for NYT, WSJ, and FT accounts.

New York Times

Bentley University students, faculty and staff members have free access to The New York Times website. The Bentley Library has a subscription to a New York Times Group Pass that gives current members of the Bentley community full access to the content on theNYTimes.com website. Users can also use their mobile devices to access the New York Times.

How to Get Started

New User Registration

  • Go to the AccessNYT.com Pass page. (Off Campus users will have to authenticate with their Bentley email address and password. Two-factor authentication is enabled.)
  • Select "Create Account."
  • Complete the Sign Up form with your Bentley University email address. When you see the Start Your Access screen, you have successfully registered.

Returning Users

Once you have activated your account, you can log into your account atNYTimes.com.

Mobile Apps

To download your free NYTimes smartphone or iPad apps, go toNYTimes.com/mobile.

The New York Times in Education

Bentley's NYTimes.com academic site license provides course-relevant content including videos, photos, infographics, and podcasts.  Newyorktimesineducation.com provides selected areas of study for students to explore, from American Government, to Biology, to Microeconomics, to Writing and English Composition, and beyond.  There are instructional strategies designed to promote learning across disciplines and ideas for coo-curricular activities outside of the classroom.

FAQs

Why can’t I log in?

You must activate your account from Bentley's network by using the AccessNYT.com Pass link to create an account.

Why am I asked to login on some occasions and not others?

Your browser cache or history may have cleared itself. Go to NYTimes.com and log back in.

Are there user restrictions with Bentley's account with the NYTimes.com?

You must have a valid Bentley University email address to register. Our access does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords, Times Insider or The New York Times Crosswords apps. NYTimes apps are not supported on all devices.

Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Within this date range, you may only open 5 PDF articles per day.

Renewing Your NYTimes.com account

All NYTimes.com accounts will expire on their one year anniversary. Don't despair, it's easy to renew your Bentley Library group pass subscription following these steps:

  1. Go to Bentley Library's unique group pass account activation page. (If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your Bentley credentials first to gain access to the page. Two factor authentication is enabled.)
  2. Click on Already have an account? Log in here. Login with the same username and password that you registered with. If you have forgotten your password, click the Forgot password? link.
  3. You will see an on-screen confirmation that your pass has been reactivated, the new expiration date, and an option to add a calendar reminder for next year.

Research databases that index the New York Times

The NYTimes.com website subscription allows access to breaking news as well as blogs and other online content not included in the Bentley Library's databases while the databases allow unlimited access to their content and more powerful searching capabilities. Students, staff and faculty who wish to use the New York Times for research should access the paper via the following aggregators:

Need help?

Reference & Research Help Contact Information
In-Person Visit us at the Reference Desk during our hours.
Email refdesk@bentley.edu
Phone 781.891.2300
 Text 781.728.0511
 Live Chat Chat with a Reference Librarian
Research Help Hours (Fall 2021)
Sunday Monday - Wednesday Thursday - Friday Saturday
1:00 pm - 9:00 pm 8:30 am - 9:00 pm 8:30 am - 4:30 pm Closed
All Hours are in Eastern Time. Hours are subject to change on holidays or for unforeseen circumstances. For up-to-date information, check the online calendar.

Research Consultations: Research Help by Appointment

Research Consultations are scheduled one-on-one meetings with a reference librarian. You can also schedule these consultations for a small group. Consultations usually last 30 minutes and take place during Reference Librarian Hours as listed above. 48 hours advanced notice required.

Research Guides

Research Guides are resources created by Bentley Librarians to guide you through research. These guides will contain a map of best bet resources of where to find information and search tips to make the research process easier. A research guide may include a list of relevant databases to search in, suggested search terms, recommended book titles, lists of websites, and more. Browse our list of Research Guides to see if one has been created for your class, a subject area, or a topic you are researching.

Frequently Asked Questions

Bentley Librarians keep a database of some of the most Frequently Asked Questions (and answers!) by the Bentley Community. Browse our FAQs to see if your question has already been answered!