LibGuides: Industry & Market Research Guide: International Industry Research

International Industry & Market Information

The resources listed here provide international coverage of industries, either at the global or country level.

D&B Hoovers - 50 user limit This link opens in a new window
Provides access to analysis and reports from Freedonia, MarketLine, and more.

Note: If you receive an error message, try opening the database link in an incognito or private browsing window. Contact the Reference Desk if you are unable to connect.

Search tip: On the D&B Hoover's landing page, select the RESEARCH INDUSTRIES tile. Search for industry profile, then explore the analyst reports and market research reports. Includes analysis and reports from J.P Morgan, Freedonia, MarketLine and more.

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor is a global market research database providing reports, analysis, insights, and statistics on consumers, industries, and countries.
Registration required: Bentley users must complete a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor.

Search Tip: There are many different search options available on the main landing page. No matter which search path you follow, we recommend that you start with those reports classified as Country Reports and Briefings, then look at related statistics, opinion pieces, datagraphics, etc. Try these different search paths:
- In the top navigation bar, click on [Industries] to select an industry. Look for the [Latest Reports] section and click on View All. Use the filters on the left side of the page to start by selecting a geography. Browse the results and use additional filters as needed.
  OR
- Use the [Explore Categories] option to browse the category tree using a drill-down menu and then choose a geography. On the results page, click on the Analysis tab to view reports.
  OR
- Use the search box to keyword search the full database for data and analysis.

IBISWorld Industries and Markets This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides a collection of 400 reports for the UK and a selection of Global Industry reports,
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal, aggregating data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. In addition to statistics, this database provides industry and market reports, including market insights for up to 152 countries and territories, consumer insights from 56 countries and territories, and coverage of businesses from 200+ countries and territories.
MarketLine Reports via Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Industry Profiles contain a Five Forces Analysis.

Search Tip #1: Use the Advanced Search screen to search for [your topic] AND marketline AND "industry profile". For example:
software AND marketline AND "industry profile"
Search Tip #2: Click on the [Industry Profiles] link. Select the "View By" [All Profiles] tab. In the search box, type the name of the industry (for example, software) and then select radio button [By Title, Subject and Description]. Click on [Browse].

Country Commercial Guides This link opens in a new window
Country Commercial Guides (also referred to as "doing business" guides) are published annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. Free resource.
Trade.gov International Market Research This link opens in a new window
Trade.gov International Market Research is the U.S. Department of Commerce's portal to international trade and market research. Managed by the International Trade Administration, the site includes Country Commercial Guides ("doing business" guides), Market Intelligence Reports for countries and industries, and Top Markets Reports. Free resource.