PESTLE (sometimes PEST) is a framework for analyzing the external macro environment of a business or industry, usually specific to a particular country. PESTLE stands for:
Use the resources listed on this page for conducting a PESTLE analysis, including:
Recommended reports:
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint provides political and economic analysis, forecasts, and data. Our subscription includes global and regional coverage as well as country analysis for 50 countries. Special curated themes allow users to browse the latest EIU coverage on those topics. An archive of past EIU reports (beginning with reports published in 1996) is also available.
Search tip: Look for the Browse menu on the right side of the page and select [Country Reports]. Enter the name of a country in the All Countries search box. The results list may include:
Search tip: Click on [Reports] in the top navigation bar, then select [Country Reports]. Search for a country or region. Results will usually include Country Reports and Dossiers.
These resources provide information on the ease of doing business and commercial opportunities, regulations, and business customs in a country:
Country Commercial Guides (also referred to as "doing business" guides) are published annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. Free resource.
Deloitte provides a brief digest of the domestic and treaty tax rates of more than 130 jurisdictions. Each International Tax Guide provides an overview of the general investment landscape, corporate taxation and compliance, individual taxation and compliance, withholding rates, anti-avoidance rules, value-added tax (VAT; where applicable) and other types of taxes, and tax treaty information. Includes Quick Links to current news and other relevant resources. Free resource.
Need some more background information? These are good resources for country profiles.
Produced by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), the World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Free resource.
OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publishes economic surveys, comparative statistics, regular outlooks and annual overviews for its 34 member countries and some major additional countries. Free resource.