Demographics - Geographic - Consumers & Market Segments Research Guide

United States Demographics

These are the best starting points for United States population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Data is provided in the form of maps, tables, and reports from a variety of Census Bureau sources.

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Although the U.S. Census site is the official gateway to Census data, users may find that DemographicsNow has a more intuitive interface and better built-in report options. Use DemographicsNow to access U.S. Census data from 1980-2010, view current year estimates, and get 5-year projections for any U.S. Census geographic area. Also provides data for Nielsen DMAs (Designated Market Areas). A custom area can also be created using radius or drive time (minutes). Users can choose from three report types – summary, comparison and rank – each of which can be downloaded in Microsoft Word, Excel, PDF and HTML formats.
U.S. Census Data This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Census provides demographic and economic data from the following surveys and censuses: American Community Survey, County Business Patterns, Decennial Census, Economic Census, and others. Free resource.

Additional sources of U.S. demographic data:

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
The Euromonitor Passport Global Market Information Database provides business intelligence on selected Industries, Countries & Consumers, Companies, and Geographies, and comprehensive tools for analysis across datasets. Each category includes in-depth reports, analyst comments, statistics and external sources.

Search Tip 1: In the top navigation bar, click on [Consumers]. Next, select a subtopic from the menu (Households; Income and Expenditure; Lifestyles; Population). Use the [Explore Analysis] and [Explore Statistics] filters to narrow the search.
- Note: When choosing an analysis type, start with a Country Report (if available), then explore the other types of analysis.
Search Tip 2: On the landing page, use the [Search Categories] option to browse the Consumers category tree using a drill-down menu and then choose a geography.
Search Tip 3: Use the search box to keyword search the full database for data and analysis.

Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Provides demographic and consumer market segmentation data by geographic place (DMA, county, or state). Users can access pre-defined report templates to generate "Pop-Facts" Demographics Reports and a variety of Segmentation Reports. The segmentation reports include PRIZM Social Groups and PRIZM Lifestage Group.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest, or choose from dropdowns providing access to information about industries, digital markets, consumer markets, and topics such as media, business, and society. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.

Country Demographics

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
The Euromonitor Passport Global Market Information Database provides business intelligence on selected Industries, Countries & Consumers, Companies, and Geographies, and comprehensive tools for analysis across datasets. Each category includes in-depth reports, analyst comments, statistics and external sources. Note: Users will have to fill out a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor. Faculty & Staff members please list your department under "Course".

Search Tip 1: In the top navigation bar, click on [Consumers]. Next, select a subtopic from the menu (Households; Income and Expenditure; Lifestyles; Population), then use the [Explore Analysis] and [Explore Statistics] filters to narrow the search.
- Note: When choosing an analysis type, start with a Country Report (if available), then explore the other types of analysis.
Search Tip 2: On the landing page, use the [Search Categories] option to browse the Consumers category tree using a drill-down menu and then choose a geography.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest, or choose from dropdowns providing access to information about industries, digital markets, consumer markets, and topics such as media, business, and society. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators is a compilation of internationally comparable statistical metrics related to global development and the fight against poverty. The database contains time series indicators for more than 200 countries and over 40 country groups. Data for many indicators spans more than 50 years.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), the World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Free resource.

International Data Base (IDB) from the U.S. Census
Find demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.
United Nations Demographics and Social Statistics
This web site is a portal for a variety of UN statistics and publications, including the Demographic Yearbook.