LibGuides: Consumers & Market Segments Research Guide: Start Here: Top Resources for Consumers &amp; Market Segments

Consumer & Market Research Databases

The comprehensive resources listed in this box are the library's top consumer research databases. They provide a mix of demographic and psychographic information, but don't forget to explore the other areas of this guide for additional information sources for consumer market research.

See also: MRI-Simmons Insights and Mosaic USA database information on this guide.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides data, insight, and analysis of consumer markets and lifestyles. Coverage includes consumer products and services markets, media and technology, retailing, and demographics and lifestyles reports.
Note: It is recommended that you create a personal Mintel profile to take advantage of features such as downloading report sections, building presentations, sharing content, and accessing complete Mintel consumer survey databooks. Click the link below for instructions.

How to Create a Mintel Profile

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor is a global market research database providing reports, analysis, insights, and statistics on consumers, industries, and countries.
Registration required: Bentley users must complete a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor.

Search Tip #1: Find consumer reports for a geography (Consumer Lifestyles Report, Consumer Profile Report, and Consumer Types Report):
1. In the top navigation bar, click on [Consumers]. Next, select Lifestyles.
2. In the [Latest Reports] section, click on View All. Use the filters on the left side of the page to start by selecting a geography. Browse the results and use additional filters as needed. Note: When choosing an analysis type, start with a Country Report (if available), then explore the other types of analysis.
Search Tip #2: Look for consumer information in Industry Reports and Briefings. There are a couple of different search options available on the main landing page:
1. In the top navigation bar, click on [Industries] to select an industry.
2. In the [Latest Reports] section, click on View All. Use the filters on the left side of the page to start by selecting a geography. Browse the results and use additional filters as needed. Note: When choosing an analysis type, start with a Country Report (if available), then explore the other types of analysis.

On the main page, use the [Explore Categories] option to browse the category tree using a drill-down menu to select options and then choose a geography.
On the results page, click on the Analysis tab to view reports.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal, aggregating data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. In addition to statistics, this database provides industry and market reports, including market insights for up to 152 countries and territories, consumer insights from 56 countries and territories, and coverage of businesses from 200+ countries and territories.
DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now is a comprehensive business and residential research tool. Users can compare the demographics and market potential of United States geographies, produce comprehensive business/residential lists and detailed demographic reports, and utilize a unique mapping tool that ‘visualizes’ trends. Provides access to MOSAIC USA consumer profiles.
Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window

Tip: Provides demographic and consumer market segmentation data by geographic place (DMA, county, or state).
- Pop-Facts Demographics Reports: Effective Buying Income; Pop-Facts Demographics; Pop-Facts Demographics By Age Race Sex; Pop-Facts Demographics Trend; Pop-Facts Executive Summary; Pop-Facts Household Income By Age of Householder and Senior Life
- Segmentation Reports: Consumer Concentration; Market Potential; Profile Ranking Index; Profile Worksheet; Segment Distribution; Target Concentration; and Target Segment Measures. Segmentation reports include PRIZM Social Groups and PRIZM Lifestage Group.

Insider Intelligence (eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
eMarketer provides market research information about digital marketing, media, and commerce topics. Includes reports, articles, charts, statistics, interviews and webinars.
Richard K Miller and Associates (RKMA) This link opens in a new window
Richard K. Miller & Associates publishes annual/biennial reference handbooks that support MBA, marketing, hospitality management and sports management research. Titles include Business-to-Business Marketing, Sports Marketing, International Consumer Markets and Consumer Behavior.

Tip: Check the Consumer Behavior handbook for consumer demographic data and analysis of consumer segments, spending and behaviors.

Sports Market Analytics (SBRNet) This link opens in a new window
Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directions.