LibGuides: Sustainability: Food & Agriculture

Suggested Search Terms for Food & Agriculture

food security or food insecurity
food sovereignty
famine
hunger
food systems
Factory farming
Farm subsidies
Organic farming
Urban agriculture or urban farming
Crops and climate
Community Gardens
Sustainable agriculture or sustainable farming
Food Access
Food Justice
Food Consumption
Food Supply

Suggested Books on Food Systems, Security, & Agriculture

Feeding the World Well: A Framework for Ethical Food Systems [eBook] by Alan M. Goldberg (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBooks
Publication Date: 2020
Hot, Hungry Planet: The Fight to Stop a Global Food Crisis in the Face of Climate Change by Lisa Palmer
Call Number: Stacks HD9000.5 .P247 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Organic Struggle: The Movement for Sustainable Agriculture in the United States by Brian K. Obach
Call Number: Stacks S605.5 .O23 2015

National and International Resources for Food & Agriculture

Local Resources on Food Access & Agriculture

Recommended Databases

Best Article Databases for Researching Food and Agriculture

The following databases cover a wide range of disciplines and publications that cover topics related to food and agriculture including ethics, science, food policy, social impacts, health impacts, environmental impact of growing food, and more.

USDA National Agricultural Library This link opens in a new window
The USDA National Agricultural Library (NAL) contains AGRICOLA, PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections. Free resource.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Coverage is from 1905-present.
GreenFile (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides coverage in the fields of Arts and Entertainment, Business, Communications, Education, General Interest, Health and Medicine, History, Home and Living, Literature and Writing, Politics and Government, Religion and Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences and Humanities, Sports and Leisure, and Technology. It includes access to over 9,000 full-text journals, with 7,800 of them peer-reviewed. Formats include articles, books, conference proceedings, reports and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage is from 1975-present.

Best Databases for Researching Food and Agriculture Industries and Markets

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business: Insights provides in-depth information on U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Included are company and industry profiles, financial data, investment reports, business periodicals, interactive charting and comparison tools, and more.
Hospitality Tourism & Leisure Collection This link opens in a new window
The Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection of journals, magazines, travel guides, and e-reference books provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism fields.
IBISWorld Industries and Markets This link opens in a new window
Searchable by industry, keyword, company name, and NAICS code, IBIS World Industries and Markets contains United States and Specialized Industry reports, selected Global Industry reports, and UK Brexit Impact Statements. Industry risk factors can be assessed using US Business Environment Profiles.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel offers market research reports covering U.S. and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles.
Richard K Miller and Associates (RKMA) This link opens in a new window
Richard K. Miller & Associates publishes annual/biennial reference handbooks that support MBA, marketing, hospitality management and sports management research. Titles include Business-to-Business Marketing, Sports Marketing, International Consumer Markets and Consumer Behavior.