LibGuides: Sustainability: Renewable & Alternative Energy

Suggested Search Terms

Renewable energy or Renewable power
Alternative energy
Solar Energy
Geothermal Energy
Wind Energy
Bioenergy
Hydropower
Fossil Fuels
Energy or Fuel Efficiency

Recommended Databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides coverage in business disciplines including marketing, management, management information systems, production and operations management, accounting, finance and economics. It includes full text for more than 3600 journals, including 1900 peer-reviewed titles. Also included are full-text case studies, company and industry profiles, country reports, executive and analyst interviews, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each week, the CQ Researcher examines an issue of compelling public interest. All CQ reports include an abstract, chronology, extensive bibliography and notes, and an outlook. A sidebar includes reports related to the latest topic, and the full text of past reports can be searched via the CQ search function or the cumulative index.
Environment and Energy Publishing - Energywire This link opens in a new window
EnergyWire focuses on the business, environmental and political issues surrounding the unconventional energy industry and the numerous factors that are altering the traditional electric utility industry. The database is searchable by keyword and date. New content is posted daily.
GreenFile (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
IBISWorld Industries and Markets This link opens in a new window
Searchable by industry, keyword, company name, and NAICS code, IBIS World Industries and Markets contains United States and Specialized Industry reports, selected Global Industry reports, and UK Brexit Impact Statements. Industry risk factors can be assessed using US Business Environment Profiles.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) offers full-text journal articles from more than 450 peer-reviewed journals in arts and humanities, business, management, accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics, finance, psychology, and social sciences.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context focuses on key scientific concepts by providing access to a comprehensive range of science journals, news, reference works, and audiovisual resources with a single search. Browsable by topic and searchable by keyword, name, source type and more
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (Core Collection) provides citations for scholarly articles from over 20,000 worldwide journals (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Though this database does not contain the full text of articles, many citations include abstracts. Access to the InCites module is not part of the Bentley subscription. Users with individual accounts need to search at least once every six months to keep the account active.

Online Resources

News from the U.S. Energy Information Administration

U.S. Energy Information Administration (USEIA)