LibGuides: GR523-AL1: Marketing Management (Cross): Geographic Demographics

U.S. Census

U.S. Census Data
The U.S. Census provides demographic and economic data from the following surveys and censuses: American Community Survey, County Business Patterns, Decennial Census, Economic Census, and others. Free resource.

Census Business Builder
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provides selected demographic, employment, business, and economic data from the Census Bureau. Use CBB to search a variety of data at the state, county, city/town (“place”), zip code, and census tract levels. Download reports and view results in an interactive map. Free resource.

Additional Sources for Demographics

Statista
Statista is a statistics portal, aggregating data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. In addition to statistics, this database provides industry and market reports, including market insights for up to 152 countries and territories, consumer insights from 56 countries and territories, and coverage of businesses from 200+ countries and territories.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a geographic mapping and data tool. It contains 75,000+ geographic indicators across demographics, housing, economic conditions, infrastructure, education, environment, health, and social determinants of health from more than 170 public and proprietary sources. Users can create custom maps, layer multiple indicators, upload and download data, generate reports, and more.

Watch this 5 minute Getting Started video to learn the basics, and explore the additional videos and instructions in the HELP DOCS section in PolicyMap.

Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect provides Claritas demographic reports by geographic place (DMA, county, or state). Data includes statistics on the area's population, including age, race, gender, income and more.

Available reports:

Pop-Facts Demographics Reports: Demographic Quick Facts; Population Quick Facts; Demographic Trend; Household Income By Age; Demographic Snapshot; Effective Buying Income; Demographics By Age Race Sex; Household Quick Facts; Demographic Overview; Executive Summary; and Senior Life
PRIZM Household Distribution Report

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The site provides data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.