Consumer & Market Research - GR523-AL1 - Fall 2024 (Cross) - LibGuides at Bentley University Library

Traveler/Visitor Demographics: Locations & Places

Conduct your own web searches to find visitor demographics and statistics for the place (e.g. state, town, region, location, or venue) you are researching. Good places to start are government websites, including travel and tourism offices, visitor bureaus, chambers of commerce, and economic development councils. Museums, state and national parks, and other organizations may also provide visitor statistics and demographics on their websites.

For example, a few key resources for Massachusetts are:

Other resources:

Consumer & Market Research Reports

Use the following databases for consumer demographic and psychographic information.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel provides data, insight, and analysis of consumer markets and lifestyles. Coverage includes consumer products and services markets, media and technology, retailing, and demographics and lifestyles reports.

Start by finding the following consumer and market reports, then explore the Mintel database for additional information on your own by topic or keyword. Be sure to also look at the Interactive Databook that accompanies each report.

Travelers, Vacationers, and Tourists

Search Tip: From the navigation bar, choose Category > Travel, Leisure, Entertainment and then select "Travel" to explore all of the reports related to travel and tourism, including:
- Vacation Plans and Priorities: 2024 - US - 2024
- Vacation Activities - US - 2024 [Note: report due out in September 2024 - keep checking!]
- Multigenerational and Family Travel - US - 2023
- Solo Travel - US - 2023
- Lodging - US - 2023
- Luxury Travel - US - 2023
- Sustainability and Travel - US - 2022
- Cruises - US - 2023
- Airlines - US - 2023
- Road Trips - US - April 2021
- Outdoor Vacation Activities - US February 2021
- Local Vacations - US - November 2020
- Experiential Traveler - US - May 2020
- Travel Tours and Activities - US - April 2020
- Family Vacations - US - January 2020

Demographics and Lifestyles

Search Tip: From the navigation bar, click on Demographics and choose all of the subcategories to explore all of the reports related to demographic and lifestyle groups, including:
- American Lifestyles - US - 2024
- Marketing to Generation Z - US - 2024
- Marketing to Millennials - US - 2024
- Marketing to Gen X - US - 2023
- Marketing to Baby Boomers - US - 2023 [Note - updated report due August 2024 - keep checking!]
- Luxury Consumer - US - 2024
- Marketing to Middle and High Income Americans - US - 2022
- Marketing to Adults Without Kids - US - 2021
- Marketing to Empty Nesters - US - 2021
- Marketing to Affluent and HNW Consumers - US - March 2021
- Activities of Teen and Tweens - US - 2024
- Lifestyles of Single Americans - US - 2023
- Student Lifestyles - US - 2022
- Teen Lifestyles - US - 2022
- Senior Lifestyles - US - 2022
- Marketing to Seniors - US - July 2020
- Urban, Rural and Suburban Lifestyles - US - 2021

Advertising and Media

Search Tip: From the navigation bar, choose Category > Technology & Media to find these reports and more:
- Social Media Trends - US - 2024 [Note: report due in July 2024]
- Social Media Trends: Spotlight on Content Creators - US - 2023
- Advertising in Gaming - US - 2023
- Streaming Audio Trends - US - 2023
- Streaming Video - US - 2023 [Note: Updated report due October 2024 - keep checking!]
- Digital Advertising - US - 2023 [Note: new report due September 2024 - keep checking!]
- Media Landscape - US - 2023
- Social Media Influencers - US - 2022
- Television Advertising - US - August 2020

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal, aggregating data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. In addition to statistics, this database provides industry and market reports, including market insights for up to 152 countries and territories, consumer insights from 56 countries and territories, and coverage of businesses from 200+ countries and territories.

Search tip: use the search box to find dossiers and statistics related to travel and tourism, including:
- Travel and Tourism Industry Advertising in the U.S.
- Travel and Tourism: Market data and analysis
- Domestic Tourism in the U.S.
- Travel and Tourism in the U.S.
- National Park Tourism in the U.S.
- City Trips in the U.S.
- Target Audience: City Trip Tourists in the U.S.