Brainstorming keywords is an important part of the research process. As you begin to look at your search results take note of any new keywords that are relevant and incorporate those into your next search.
Think about using BROADER terms to get more results, and NARROWER terms to retrieve fewer results. Follow the tips on the "Database Search Tips" guide to combine your search terms and BUILD searches to achieve best results.
Possible keywords to get you started are listed below. How many more can you think of?
If you were researching the abortion for example, you might search (abortion AND controver*)
Academic OneFile contains full-text peer-reviewed content for over 13,000 indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts. Source of [b] Topic Finder [/b].
Each week, the CQ Researcher examines an issue of compelling public interest. All CQ reports include an abstract, chronology, extensive bibliography and notes, and an outlook. A sidebar includes reports related to the latest topic, and the full text of past reports can be searched via the CQ search function or the cumulative index.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers social and political issues with access to primary and secondary source material including journal articles, national and global news sources, pro/con viewpoint essays, videos, podcasts, and more. Includes full-text access to the Opposing Viewpoints book series.
Global Issues in Context integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more to explain the historical and contemporary conditions necessary to understand global issues, conflicts and events.
Science in Context focuses on key scientific concepts by providing access to a comprehensive range of science journals, news, reference works, and audiovisual resources with a single search. Browsable by topic and searchable by keyword, name, source type and more
Academic Search Complete provides coverage in the fields of Arts and Entertainment, Business, Communications, Education, General Interest, Health and Medicine, History, Home and Living, Literature and Writing, Politics and Government, Religion and Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences and Humanities, Sports and Leisure, and Technology. It includes access to over 9,000 full-text journals, with 7,800 of them peer-reviewed. Formats include articles, books, conference proceedings, reports and more.
World News Digest is a domestic and international news database covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. World News Digest is updated twice weekly and includes a searchable hourly newsfeed. Its internal hyperlinks allow researchers to follow a story ahead and back in time, and lead to just the background information they need to understand its significance.
Access to databases listed above is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of Bentley University.
Access these resources from off campus using your Bentley email address and network password.
Search tips are available to help formulate a more relevant search query.
If you find a citation to an article that is not available in full text in one database, use the Journal Finder tab on the Library Home Page to track down the full text from another database or to find out what the Bentley Library provides in hardcopy
If you find a citation to an article that is not available at Bentley, you may obtain the full text through a service called Interlibrary Loan.