Skip to main content

Static Linking: EBSCOHost

This guide is designed to provide faculty with help linking content from EBSCOHost, ProQuest and JSTOR in Blackboard or online bibliographies.

EBSCOHost Permalinks

EBSCOHost allows users to create static links to documents.  EBSCO refers to these links as Permalinks.  The links can be found on the document page to any EBSCOHost article.  EBSCO provides links to full-text documents and abstracts that can be placed in a Blackboard course website, a document or an on-line bibliography.   Note:  If you plan to include static links in Blackboard please be sure to have you Blackboard course website open before your search for articles.

From the Bentley Library's databases A-Z page (http://library.bentley.edu/research/databasesaz.asp) click on any link with “EBSCO” in the title.  

The Bentley Library's EBSCOHost databases default to the Advanced Search option.  Advanced Search provides searchers with multiple search options and limiters.  The "Help" link at the top, right-hand side of the search page provides information and tips to help the searcher use all of the EBSCOHost search features.

Note: While much of the content available via EBSCOHost is provided in full-text HTML or full-text PDF formats, there are occasions when a search may return the abstracts of published articles.  If you intend to link to the full-text of an article please make sure that the full-text of that article is available. 

Search EBSCOHost and Copy Links

Step 1: 

Once the EBSCOHost database(s) to be searched have been selected the searcher can enter the search terms and limiters and on the search page and click the "Search" button.   

Step 2:

When your search results are returned you can select an article to which you would like to create a Permalink by clicking on the article title.  After the document page loads click on the EBSCOHost icon for Permalink under tool, on the right-hand side of the page.

Step 3: 

Click on the article title and the document page will load.  On the right-hand side of document page, under "Tools", there will be seven icons.  Click on the icon for Permalink.

Step 4:

 A Permalink will now be added to the top of the document page.  Copy this link and paste it wherever you would like to share it.  Note: If you would like to make links to EBSCOHost documents available from off-campus please follow the steps on the page on this guide titled "Making Links Available for Remote Users".