Skip to main content

Static Linking: ProQuest

This guide is designed to provide faculty with help linking content from EBSCOHost, ProQuest and JSTOR in Blackboard or online bibliographies.

Selecting a ProQuest Database

ProQuest allows users to create static links to documents.  ProQuest refers to their static links as Document URL.  The links can be found on the citation page to any ProQuest document.  ProQuest provides links to full-text documents and abstracts that can be placed in a Blackboard course website, a document or an on-line bibliography.   Note:  If you plan to include static links in Blackboard please be sure to have you Blackboard course website open before your search for articles.

From the Bentley Library's databases A-Z page ( click on any link with “ProQuest” in the title.  

The Bentley Library's ProQuest databases default to the Advanced Search option.  Advanced Search provides searchers with multiple search options and limiters.  The "Help" link at the top, right-hand side of the search page provides information and tips to help the searcher use all of the ProQuest search features.

Note: While much of the content available via ProQuest is provided in full-text HTML or full-text PDF formats, there are occasions when a search may return the abstracts of published articles.  If you intend to link to the full-text of an article please make sure that the full-text of that article is available. 

Search ProQuest and Copy Links

Step 1:

After selecting the ProQuest database(s) to be searched, enter the search terms and limiters and on the search page and click the "Search"  button.  



Step 2:

Once your results are returned you can go through and mark the items for which you would like to create static (durable) links.


Step 3:

Click on the article title to see that article and copy the static link.  If the article is a PDF then you will click on the link, at the top of the page click on the tab titled "Abstract/Details".  If the article returned is in HTML format scroll to the bottom of the article/document and see the "Indexing Details" and simply copy the link on the "Document URL" line.  You can past this URL in a Blackboard course site.  Students will be able to access the article by clicking on it and entering their Bentley username and password.

Copy the link and post wherever you like. Note: Static links from ProQuest will have the Bentley Library's proxy server prefix tag so that remote (off-campus) users can access the document using their Bentley University user name ( email address) and network password.