This guide is designed to assist members of the Bentley University community in using the Library's resources to locate current news. While this guide mainly provides resources on how to access news online, the Bentley Library does still have some publications in print.
To find out if we have a particular publication available in print in the current periodicals area of the main floor of the library, use the Bentley Library Search. Note: Current Periodicals are not available for check out and must be read in the library.
If you need any help or have questions, please contact a Bentley Library reference librarian for research help.
Image Credit: Ink Stained Wretches. By Jeff Eaton, 2012, (Flickr). Used under Creative Commons License CC BY-SA 2.0.
The Bentley Library provides access to Bloomberg.com! Visit the Bloomberg.com Online Access page for details on how to use this resource.
The Bentley Library provides access to the The Economist via economist.com! Visit the The Economist Online Access page for details on how to use this resource.
FINANCIAL TIMES
The Bentley Library provides access to the Financial Times via ft.com! Visit the Financial Times Online Access page in this guide for details on how to register for an account.
Did you know that the Bentley Library provides access to nytimes.com for free for current students, faculty, and staff? It's true!
Directions on how to sign up for an account are located on the New York Times Online Access page in this guide.
Sign up for a free Wall Street Journal wsj.com account sponsored by the Bentley Library! Accounts are available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Visit the Wall Street Journal Online Access page to sign up for an account.
The following library databases provide access to news and newspaper publications. If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your Bentley credentials to access these resources.
The following website allows you to browse front pages of newspapers in the U.S. and worldwide each day:
The following library databases provide access to international news and newspaper publications. If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your Bentley credentials to access these resources.
The Center for Languages and International Collaboration (CLIC) also has a list of Japanese, French, Italian, Chinese, and Spanish news sources on their website:
While you can do a Google Search to find the websites of specific publications, you may come across embargoes or have limited access to that publication's content.
Use the Journal Search to find out if we have access to that publication either in print or online, which database has that particular publication if available electronically, and dates of coverage. Search by the title of the publication.
Note: Print Current Periodicals are not available for check out and must be read in the library.
Want to browse multiple publications at the same time? Find other publications on the web? Visit some of these online resources:
Many of the periodical/article databases that Bentley Library offers include news publication coverage in the subject area the database covers. Visit the Databases A-Z to browse databases by a subject area of interest to you. Descriptions of each database will inform you if those databases include news publications. Below are some examples of databases with news publications based on subject area.
Business News Sources
CBCA Complete provides full-text coverage of more than 600 periodicals and daily news sources, plus indexing for an additional 1,100 titles. Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas. In addition to full-text scholarly journals, this database includes full-text e-books, dissertations, and transcripts from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. CBCA is updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
Accounting & Tax News Sources
Accounting Research Manager provides FASB, GASB, SABs, and other accounting and auditing standards, as well as interpretations and examples written by experts for accounting, SEC, auditing, and government. The database is searchable by keyword, topic, and FASB Codification Number. Simultaneous access is limited to six users. New for Spring 2024: Accounting Research Manager has moved to a new platform with a new interface! If you have questions, contact the Reference Desk.
Bloomberg Tax provides users with online access to statutes, regulations, tax codes, court cases, and expert analysis, articles, and commentary on tax planning. Practice tools such as tax prep guides, checklists, tax forms, and sample documents are included. Our subscription also includes selected State and International materials. Visit the Self Registration Page for Bentley University to register for an account. Make sure to complete the registration process by checking for an email with further directions after completing the registration form on the web.
Politics & Government News Sources
Environment News
The following library databases contain broadcast transcripts:
Depending on the source, news organizations may make their transcripts available online. Below are a couple of examples of sites where transcripts are available (others may be found through a Google Search):
| Reference & Research Help Contact Information | |
| In-Person | Visit us at the Reference Desk during our hours. |
| refdesk@bentley.edu | |
| Phone | 781.891.2300 |
| Text | 781.728.0511 |
| Live Chat |
|
| Research Help Hours (Spring 2024) | |||
| Sunday | Monday - Wednesday | Thursday - Friday | Saturday |
| 1:00 pm - 9:00 pm | 8:30 am - 9:00 pm | 8:30 am - 5:00 pm | Closed |
| All Hours are in Eastern Time. Hours are subject to change on holidays or for unforeseen circumstances. For up-to-date information, check the online calendar. | |||
Research Consultations: Research Help by Appointment
Research Consultations are scheduled one-on-one meetings with a reference librarian. You can also schedule these consultations for a small group. Consultations usually last 30 minutes and take place during Reference Librarian Hours as listed above. 48 hours advanced notice required.
Research Guides
Research Guides are resources created by Bentley Librarians to guide you through research. These guides will contain a map of best bet resources of where to find information and search tips to make the research process easier. A research guide may include a list of relevant databases to search in, suggested search terms, recommended book titles, lists of websites, and more. Browse our list of Research Guides to see if one has been created for your class, a subject area, or a topic you are researching.
Frequently Asked Questions
Bentley Librarians keep a database of some of the most Frequently Asked Questions (and answers!) by the Bentley Community. Browse our FAQs to see if your question has already been answered!