Skip to main content

Industry & Market Research Guide

This Bentley Library research guide was created to provide a starting point for researching industries and markets.

Finding Newspaper, Magazine & Journal Articles

Complete your research by conducting a thorough review of current journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers.

The following databases contain articles from thousands of business related newspapers, magazines, journals, and trade publications. Don't restrict your search to just one database. There can be significant differences in journal coverage and full-text availability.

Search Tips - Best practices for searching library databases

The library's databases have different search interfaces, but they share basic search principles. Some of these principles are listed below.

It is good practice to look for the [Advanced Search] option in each database that you use. The advanced search page will usually make it very clear as to how you can control your search using Boolean search techniques, limiters, field searching, etc.

Boolean Searching

Boolean searching is the cornerstone to an effective search strategy. Boolean searching refers to searching using a combination of words and the three Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT.  A best practice is to capitalize your Boolean Operators.

  • AND will make your search smaller. If you are retrieving too many records on your topic, try adding another search term with the operator AND.

For example: "krispy kreme" AND marketing

  • OR will make your search bigger. If you are retrieving too few records on your topic, try adding another search term with the operator OR.

For example: (adolescents OR teenagers)

  • NOT will exclude a word from your search results. If you are retrieving too many records on an unrelated topic, try eliminating a word with the operator NOT.

For example: dolphins NOT football

Phrase Searching

To search for two or more words in the exact order in which they are entered you should enclose the phrase in quotation marks " ".

For example: "obsessive compulsive disorder"

Truncation

Truncation allows you to search the root form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of a word. Truncation symbols vary by database (check the help screens or ask a Librarian), but are usually one of the below:

* (asterisk)
! (exclamation point)
? (question mark)

For example: advertis* will search for advertise, advertisement, advertising, advertises

Field Searching & Limiters

Each database has a variety of predefined fields or limiters that you can search within. Some examples of fields and limiters are:

  • article title
  • article abstract
  • article text
  • author
  • publication title
  • date
  • geographic location
  • company name
  • product name
  • ticker symbol
  • NAICS/SIC Codes
  • document type
  • publication type
  • scholarly or peer-reviewed
Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources

Professors often require students to use articles from scholarly journals in their research papers and assignments. Scholarly journal articles are written by researchers, academic scholars, or experts in a field and are written for a targeted audience that includes other researchers, scholars, and specialists. Scholarly journals are sometimes also referred to as "refereed" or "peer-reviewed". 

How you go about finding scholarly articles really depends on your topic, but most databases allow users to limit their searches to scholarly articles, "refereed" or "peer-reviewed" publications. Keep in mind that not everything published in a scholarly journal is a scholarly article (e.g. book reviews, editorials, letters), so you will still need to evaluate each article individually. If you need any help identifying a scholarly publication, please see your professor or a Reference Librarian.