Finding Articles & News - Honors Capstone Project - Worthington

Best Bet Library Resources

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides coverage in the fields of Arts and Entertainment, Business, Communications, Education, General Interest, Health and Medicine, History, Home and Living, Literature and Writing, Politics and Government, Religion and Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences and Humanities, Sports and Leisure, and Technology. It includes access to over 9,000 full-text journals, with 7,800 of them peer-reviewed. Formats include articles, books, conference proceedings, reports and more.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Also known as ABI/INFORM Complete, content from ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry can be found in this one database. Provides access to business scholarly and trade journals, trade news, dissertations, and more. Coverage from 1971-present.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides coverage in business disciplines including marketing, management, management information systems, production and operations management, accounting, finance and economics. It includes full text for more than 3600 journals, including 1900 peer-reviewed titles. Also included are full-text case studies, company and industry profiles, country reports, executive and analyst interviews, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, formerly called LexisNexis Academic, contains a variety of news and specialized sources. Users may search for: regional, national, and international news publications and wire services; US state and federal cases and statutes; company profile and dossier information by company name or ticker symbol; country profiles, risk information, and news; patent information; and biographical and news information on public figures. Topical pages include Business, Criminal Justice, and Political Science. Users may register for an account to save searches and bookmark documents, add notes, collaborate with other users, and set up alerts to track new content.

Organizations & Online Resources

Americans for the Arts
Americans for the Arts is a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting and sustaining the arts in the United States. Their website includes lots of different types of information including news that impacts the arts, resources, and more. Americans for the Arts also has location specific information - check out the state page for Michigan.
American Theatre
American Theatre magazine and the news site are published by the Theatre Communications Group.
The print version of American Theatre Magazine is also available via Academic Search Complete.
Black Theatre Network
The Black Theatre Network is "comprised of artists, educators, scholars, students and theatre lovers who are dedicated to the exploration and preservation of the theatrical visions of the African Diaspora."
The Broadway League
National association for the theatre industry. Provides various reports and statistics.
Broadway World
BroadwayWorld.com provides Broadway, off-Broadway, and regional theatre news.
Detroit Historical Society
Detroit Historical Society, founded in 1921, preserves the history of Detroit. Explore their website to find various resources including The Encyclopedia of Detroit.
Grantmakers in the Arts (GIA)
Grantmakers in the Arts is an association of both private and public arts funders, supporting the growth of arts and culture.
Michigan Arts and Culture Council
Provides information about the arts in Michigan, including a list of Michigan's Arts and Cultural Organizations.
Michigan Historical Society
Since 1828, the Michigan Historical Society educates on the history of Michigan. The Michigan Historical Society publishes works such as Michigan History Magazine and The Michigan Historical Review.
National Assembly of State Arts Agencies (NASAA)
A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to helping state arts agencies across the country. Includes various news and research regarding the arts and funding.
Playbill
Industry trade news for Broadway, Off-Broadway, regional, international, and touring productions.
Theatre Communications Group
National organization for theatre providing various resources and research.