Getting to Know the Bentley Library Search

With our move to our new library system, links to the old system will need to be updated if you have included them in your course Brightspace site or other materials. Links to the library catalog, books, articles, DVDS, or other library materials will all be impacted.

Links that need to be updated will begin with either:

• https://encore.bentley.edu/
• https://libcat.bentley.edu/

Any other links (i.e. links to articles in databases) should be okay and continue to function as intended. However, if you're unsure and need assistance please reach out to us.

All items included in the Bentley Library Search have their own unique record which includes a permalink (otherwise known as a permanent or static link). These are direct links to the item in the catalog, without any temporary information included in the URL, making them ideal candidates to use in course sites or materials.

After locating the desired item in the Library Search Results, look for the Permalink tool. The location of the permalink option will vary depending on whether you are looking at the result list or the full record display.

Result List View

Full Display View

We know that course readings can take many forms and linking to content, particularly articles in some of the library's subscription databases, in a course Brightspace site makes it easier for students to locate the material.

Here are some of our tips on how to effectively link to some of our resources:

• Don't just provide a link. Give students the relevant information to help them track down the source if the link breaks. Titles, authors, publication titles, or the name of the database it is contained in can help students locate the resource on their own if the link is not functioning properly.

• If linking to an article from one of the library's databases or the library search, make sure that you are using the persistent or permalink. Most URLs that appear in your browser's address bar when searching in databases are temporary and only work during a particular search session. Our Static Linking page can show you where to locate permanent links within some of our most popular databases.

• Remind students that they can sign up for free The Economist, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times digital subscription accounts via the library if you require students to read articles from those publications. Directions on how to register for these accounts are located on our Current News guide.

Our Course Reserves service can help you with providing correct links and documentation to items in our collections within your course site. If you have any questions, reach out to Anne Jorgensen (ajorgensen@bentley.edu or ext. 2317).