Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Find Archives Material Elsewhere
A database, operated by OCLC, that collects descriptions of archival material from collections all over the world. In their Advanced Search, select "Archival material" as your Format.
Massachusetts Historical Society
If your topic of interest has anything to do with Massachusetts - its cities, history, industry, etc - this is a great resource. They have a number of collections online & provide research help.
Library of Congress
The LOC has an abundance of digital collections that are well-organized and visually appealing. You can read finding aids, search by type of material, or browse digital collections.
This page provides information about the many ways you can search through the huge number of records in the National Archives. Options are flexible, so you should be able to find relevant information with little trouble.
The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections is an online portal to various databases and catalogs containing primary source material.
Understanding Archival Guides
While some institutions have started creating searchable online guides, or organizing collections by topic/genre, most archival collections are still accessed primarily by a finding aid. See our "How to Read a Finding Aid" tab to learn how to use them effectively to find information.
On the left you can find links to other repositories that have archival collections which you can search online. Below are a few basic search strategies for navigating online databases and collections.
Searching for Archival Material
Just as it can be difficult to find books or articles to support your research, it can be difficult to find appropriate archival resources. Most archives have someone on staff who can help you find a specific item, or tell you if they have collections that are relevant to your topic. However, if you want to do some searching on your own, particularly using online resources, here are a few quick tips.
- Remember that archives are organized differently.
- Use our "How to Read a Finding Aid" tab to become skilled at browsing finding aids for items & information.
- See if the archive has provided any Subject Guides or Research Guides that can help you narrow down collections to search.
- Since archives do not generally group collections by topic, try to think of people, organizations, or places that might have information about your topic, then seek out archival collections concerning those.
- When using a catalog or database, adapt your search strategies.
- Advanced search pages often give you the option to limit your results to certain collections - like the Archives.
- They may also allow you to search by Format/Type - look for keywords like "manuscripts" "archives" or "special collections."
- Our "Archives & Primary Sources" tab has a list of keywords to use in your search if you want to specifically locate primary source documents.
- If you have a broad search term and you aren't getting great results, try using the LOC Authorities to help find the "official" search term for your topic.
Bentley Archives Online
Online exhibits about subjects covered in the Bentley Archives
PDF finding aids for collections that have been at least minimally processed.
A growing collection of photographs from the Bentley Archive, posted & searchable online thanks to a partnership with Digital Commonwealth.
Scholars @ Bentley
Archival collections, including commencement programs and class photographs, on Bentley's institutional repository.