Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bentley Archives Forms
Feel free to download these resources to learn more about visiting the Archives. If you have any questions about these documents, please contact the Archivist.
Before You Arrive
- Since materials in the Archives cannot be checked out, you will need to make an appointment to view them.
- Review the guides availabile on our "What's At the Bentley Archives" page, and the Archives website to find some material you may want to use.
- Remember that you can always call or email the Archivist to help you find material. If you have an assignment, research interest, or idea we can tell you what items might be of use!
- Once you know what you want to view (this can be as broad as a collection, or as specific as a box number) email email@example.com and request an appointment.
- Appointments will generally be scheduled from Monday-Friday from 8am-4pm. A study room in the Bentley Library will be booked by the Archivist for your appointment time.
- Before you head to the Library, you may want to review the Archives Access Policy (see left column).
When You Visit
- Please arrive on time for your appointment and check in at the Library Services Desk.
- You will be asked to bring only laptops, pencils, paper, and a phone/camera into the Study Room. Backpacks, briefcases, and any other personal belongings will be securely stored for you.
- This is to protect our unique materials from theft or damage that can be caused by pens, drink spills, etc!
- The Archivist will present all of the material you requested and show you the proper procedure for handling boxes, folders, and items within the collection. You may need to use book stands or gloves if any of the material is fragile.
- You may take as many notes and photos as you like - but please no flash photography! The Archivist will always be available to provide help or information during your appointment.
After Your Appointment
- When you have finished your appointment, the Archivist will review the material you used to make sure everything is complete and un-damaged.
- If you will need to see the materials again, you can place a hold on the boxes you used so that they will be quickly accessible for your next appointment.
- While you are welcome to take your own photos during your appointment, the Archivist can also provide copies or scans of material at your request.
- Copies/scans can only be provided if the material is in good condition. Fragile materials may be unavailable for copying.
- Large-scale copying or scanning may incur a small fee.
- Copying/scanning does not indicate permission to publish. Duplications are for personal research use only.
- If you use your research in the Archives to help with a project, presentation, paper, etc - send it to us! We'd love to see what our researchers are up to!
Bentley Archives Online
Online exhibits about subjects covered in the Bentley Archives
PDF finding aids for collections that have been at least minimally processed.
A growing collection of photographs from the Bentley Archive, posted & searchable online thanks to a partnership with Digital Commonwealth.
Scholars @ Bentley
Archival collections, including commencement programs and class photographs, on Bentley's institutional repository.