LibGuides: GR523-HCMBA5: Marketing Management (Cross): Health Statistics

Community Health Needs Assessments

A Community Health Assessment (CHA) or Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA) can be an excellent source of information about the health needs of a community served by a hospital/hospital system or regional public health agency.

"A community health assessment (CHA) refers to a state, tribal, local, or territorial health assessment that identifies key health needs and issues through systematic, comprehensive data collection and analysis." (CDC, Community Planning for Health Assessment: CHA & CHIP). The IRS mandates that tax-exempt hospitals perform community health needs assessments at least once every three years. The Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB)—the national accrediting body for state, tribal, local, and territorial health departments—requires a documented community health assessment and improvement plan dated within the last five years for voluntary accreditation. (CDC, Public Health, Community Planning for Health Assessment: Drivers)

Search Tip: Search the web for a CHA produced by a hospital, local government, or public health board for the geographic area you are searching using the phrases "community health assessment" and "community health needs assessment" in combination with the name of a hospital or geographic area (county, town, etc.).

Here are just a few examples of CHA reports:

Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) Community Health Assessments
Mayo Clinic Health System Community Health Needs Assessments [individual reports for all locations where the system operates a hospital in Minnesota and Wisconsin]
Greater Nashua (New Hampshire) CHA [from the City of Nashua Division of Public Health and Community Services (DPHCS) and their Public Health Advisory Council partners]

State & County Public Health Statistics

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R)
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps is a project of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. The Rankings show the rank of health for almost every county in the US and provide data to help researchers set up projects that target factors specific to their area.
Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF): State Health Facts
"State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States....State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators....Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations."
National Center for Health Statistics: Stats of the States
Selected state-level data from NCHS.

PolicyMap
PolicyMap provides comprehensive mapping and data analytics tools. It contains 75,000+ geographic indicators across demographics, housing, economic conditions, infrastructure, education, environment, health, and social determinants of health from more than 170 public and proprietary sources. Users can create custom maps in seconds, layer multiple indicators, upload and download data, publish and share maps, build dashboards, and generate reports.

Search Tip: Explore the Health category options, which includes information on Health Facility Locations, Health Conditions, Risk Factors, Costs & Insurance, and Access to Medical Care.

Watch this 5 minute Getting Started video to learn the basics, and explore the additional videos and instruction in the HELP DOCS section in PolicyMap.

Statista
Statista is a statistics portal, aggregating data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. In addition to statistics, this database provides industry and market reports, including market insights for up to 152 countries and territories, consumer insights from 56 countries and territories, and coverage of businesses from 200+ countries and territories.

Health Insurance Coverage

KFF Search State Health Facts: Health Coverage & Uninsured Indicators
"This category includes data on health insurance status for the population overall and broken down by age, gender, and income. There are also data on specific types of coverage, including employer-sponsored, Medicaid, Medicare, as well as people who are uninsured by demographic characteristics, including age, race/ethnicity, work status, gender, and income. Further information about Medicaid and Medicare beneficiaries can be found in their respective categories."
The State of Health Insurance Coverage in the U.S.: Findings from the Commonwealth Fund 2024 Biennial Health Insurance Survey
National Center for Health Statistics: FastStats - Health Insurance Coverage
US Census: Health Insurance
"The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), American Community Survey (ACS), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)."