LibGuides: AC115 Library Research Guide: Industry Ratios

Where do I find Industry Ratios?

When looking for Industry Ratios it is important to know about and use the SIC/NAICS codes . Why? If you know the industry code, you can easily identify your industry's ratios within each of the recommended resources listed below. Click here to learn more about SIC/NAICS Codes.

Included below are the Online Databases and Reference Books most commonly used to find Industry Ratios:

Online Databases:

Bloomberg
Industry ratios reports can be run for up to 20 user-specified data categories by using the "RV" (relative value) function. This resource is only available in the Trading Room.
FactSet
FactSet combines more than 200 databases from industry-leading suppliers and powerful analytical tools into a single information system. FactSet has more thn 50 applications that allow users to analyze companies, portfolios, industries, markets, and economies seamlessly. This resource is available in the Trading Room and on the computers in the Library. Only available on campus.

D&B Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
D&B Key Business Ratios (KBR), provided by Mergent, provides immediate online access to recent competitive industry benchmarking data for public and private companies. 14 key business ratios cover all critical areas of business performance—solvency, efficiency and profitability. Users may search data by SIC and NAICS code, line of business, asset range and year. Users may also download and create reports.
IBISWorld Industries and Markets This link opens in a new window
Searchable by industry, keyword, company name, and NAICS code, IBIS World Industries and Markets contains United States and Specialized Industry reports, selected Global Industry reports, and UK Brexit Impact Statements. Industry risk factors can be assessed using US Business Environment Profiles.
S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage provides access to S&P's Company and Industry Surveys, Stock Guides, Dividend Records, Mutual Fund Ratings, Corporation Records and much more. Industry surveys are updated twice yearly and provide key data on more than 50 industries from Health Care to Telecommunications.
Value Line Research Center - 6 user limit This link opens in a new window
Value Line Research Center includes online access to Value Line's full-page and summary data reports covering stocks, mutual funds, options, convertible securities, and proprietary special situation stocks. The database also includes stock quotes (delayed 15 minutes), company and industry news and graphs, market updates, portfolio tracking with alerts, real-time Value Line Analyst Supplements, and investment education. Simultaneous access is limited to six users.

Trading Room

Trading Room Homepage

Reference Books

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios by Philip Wilson
Call Number: REF HF5681.R25 T68 Annual. Current on Reserve. Previous in Reference.
provides updated performance data for 50 operating and financial factors in 192 industries, derived from the latest available IRS figures on US and international companies. The data for each industry are subdivided into 13 categories based on company size. Covers all variety of factors relating to operations, operating costs, financial performance, and an array of critical financial factors in percentages including debt ratio, return on assets, return on equity, and profit margins. Each table is divided into 13 asset sizes to facilitate comparison. Includes descriptive pages that explain the formulas and data used for calculating the ratios. Organized according to NAICS Codes. Known previously as Troy`s almanac. Now published by CCH and Wolters Kluwer and edited by Philip Wilson.
Annual statement studies by Risk Management Association
Call Number: REF HF5681.B2 R6 Annual. Current on Reserve. Previous in Reference.
RMA Annual Statement Studies covers over 700 industries and provides nineteen ratios widely used in the financial services industry with the accompanying balance sheet information. Data is derived directly from 190,000 financial statements of RMA member financial institutions (US) borrowers and prospects. Included are various types of liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios. Data arrayed by asset and sales size. Six different asset and sales size categories are presented. Four years of trend data is available in each yearly issue. Includes descriptive pages that explain the formulas and data used for calculating the ratios. Organized according to NAICS Codes.
Industry norms and key business ratios by Dun & Bradstreet, Inc.
Call Number: REF HF5681.R25 I525 Annual. Current Year on Reserve. Previous in Reference.
Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Ratios include over 800 lines of business. Data is compiled from public and private U. S. Corporations in all size ranges. Contain fourteen indicators of performance grouped into 3 categories: solvency ratios, efficiency ratios & profitability ratios. Key ratios are broken into median figures with upper and lower quartiles. Includes descriptive pages that explain the formulas and data used for calculating the ratios. Organized according to SIC Codes. [Now available Online, see listing in Online Databases box above].
Valuation handbook. International guide to cost of capital
Call Number: REF DESK HG4028 .V3 I588 Annual. Latest at Reference Desk. Previous in Reference.
"Provides country-level country-risk premia (CRPs), Relative Volativity (RV) factors, and equity risk premia (ERPs) which can be used to estimate country-level cost of cost of equity capital globally, for up to 188 countries, and from the perspective of investors based in any one of up to 56 countries."--2017, introduction.
Valuation Handbook. International Industry Cost of Capital by Duff & Phelps.
Call Number: REF DESK HG4028.V3 I587 Annual. Latest at Reference Desk
Provides industry-level cost of capital estimates (cost of equity captial, cost of debt capital, and weighted average cost of capital, or WACC), plus detailed industry-level statistics for sales, market capitalization, capital structure, various levered and unlevered beta estimates (e.g. ordinary-least squares (OLS) beta, sum beta, peer group beta, downside beta, etc.), valuation (trading) multiples, financial and profitability ratios, equity returns, aggregate forward-looking earnings-per-share (EPS) growth rates, and more.
v. 1 World -- v. 2. European Union -- v. 3. United Kingdom -- v. 4. Eurozone.
Valuation handbook: Industry cost of capital by Duff & Phelps
Call Number: REF HG4028.V3 V345 Annual. Latest at Reference Desk. Previous in Reference.
Incorporates the key data previously published in Ibbotson's Cost of Capital Yearbook (green cover). This is industry-level cost of capital data.