LibGuides: AC115 Library Research Guide: Competitor Research

Competitor Research Databases

An easy way to find competitors is by industry classification, which groups companies according to their business activity. Use NAICS codes to search for other companies competing in the same industry.

Further research the competitors through their company websites, company profile databases listed below.

Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Data Axle (formerly ReferenceUSA) contains detailed company descriptions, corporate family trees, management directories, and competitor information for more than 20 million U.S. businesses. Users may build custom searches to help identify and compare companies. Custom search options include business type, geography, business size and ownership type.
DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now is a comprehensive business and residential research tool. Users can compare the demographics and market potential of United States geographies, produce comprehensive business/residential lists and detailed demographic reports, and utilize a unique mapping tool that ‘visualizes’ trends. Provides access to MOSAIC USA consumer profiles.
IBISWorld Industries and Markets This link opens in a new window
Searchable by industry, keyword, company name, and NAICS code, IBIS World Industries and Markets contains United States and Specialized Industry reports, selected Global Industry reports, and UK Brexit Impact Statements. Industry risk factors can be assessed using US Business Environment Profiles.
MarketLine Reports via Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Company Profiles include key company information such as top competitors, major products and services, and revenue and SWOT analyses. MarketLine Industry Profiles include information about market value, segmentation and forecasts, Porter’s Five Forces analysis, and leading companies in the industry.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides a searchable interface for current content from the following Mergent Manuals: Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, Public Utility & Transportation, OTC Industrial and OTC Unlisted. Inactive (no longer traded) companies, on both US and international exchanges, are also included. The BondViewer contains a wide-range of bond data, involving both issuer and issue-level terms and conditions for U.S. taxable bonds, municipal bonds and retail notes. The D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company database is also included.