LibGuides: Sociology: Databases: Find Journal Articles

Databases: Top Picks

Sage Sociology Full-text Collection This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Sociology Collection includes peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies. This collection covers such subjects as childhood, contemporary, comparative and classical sociology, consumer culture, ethnic, gender, leisure, and labor studies, social theory and the sociology of sport.
ProQuest Sociology This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources. Coverage is from 1985 - present.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides coverage in the fields of Arts and Entertainment, Business, Communications, Education, General Interest, Health and Medicine, History, Home and Living, Literature and Writing, Politics and Government, Religion and Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences and Humanities, Sports and Leisure, and Technology. It includes access to over 9,000 full-text journals, with 7,800 of them peer-reviewed. Formats include articles, books, conference proceedings, reports and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a research and reference resource of wide scope and depth in communication, mass media and related fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more. It also includes full text for over 450 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Coverage is from 1905-present.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (Core Collection) provides citations for scholarly articles from over 20,000 worldwide journals (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Though this database does not contain the full text of articles, many citations include abstracts. Access to the InCites module is not part of the Bentley subscription. Users with individual accounts need to search at least once every six months to keep the account active.

Additional Recommended Databases for Sociology Topics

Find Articles Across Social Sciences Disciplines

These databases listed below are also excellent sources for articles on sociology-related topics. To view a complete list of the library's databases please visit our Databases A-Z page. Use the Subject Filters to identify additional databases for your topics.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. MUSE offers articles in full text (HTML and PDF formats), in a variety of subject areas including economics, education, film, history, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, women's studies and more. Journals can be searched by title, discipline, or collection. Users can also search within the full text of articles or by subject, author, or title.
Diversity Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies collection provides access to articles from news sources, magazines and academic journals exploring global cultural differences and influences related to gender, ethnicity, and race. Publications included in this collection cover subjects in disciplines such as anthropology, history, gender studies, and sociology.
Gender Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s OneFile Gender Studies collection provides academic journals and magazines covering topics such as gender and queer studies, family and marital issues. Also includes photo and video archives from major news outlets, and PBS programs such as Independent Lens and NOVA.
ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar contains theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from scholarly sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Using Google search techniques, users can find and download articles directly from selected Bentley Library article databases and other websites. Google Scholar also provides links to related articles, enabling users to easily broaden a search.

Psychology, Health and Medicine Databases

ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Psychology Journals indexes 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields. Updated daily.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES contains full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo® indexes and provides abstracts for international literature on psychological research and its applications. Source types include peer-reviewed journals, books and chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, and more.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) offers full-text journal articles from more than 450 peer-reviewed journals in arts and humanities, business, management, accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics, finance, psychology, and social sciences.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE enables users to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.