Skip to main content

*Bentley Library Coronavirus Updates & Remote Services

Home

Bentley University Latest News

Please refer to Bentley University's Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates page for all official campus updates and announcements:

Bentley Library Hours of Operation and Services

Updated 03/16/2020: As announced by the Bentley University Cabinet, the Bentley Library will be closing at 6:00 p.m. Tuesday, March 17. The Library will remain closed until further notice.

The following services will be available: 

  • Electronic resources including databases, ebooks, and streaming films (see below for more information)
  • Research help via email, text and live chat (see below for more information)
  • Research consultations via Zoom (see below for more information)
  • Interlibrary Loan for articles and book chapters. Please note that due to COVID-19 service disruptions at libraries across the country we cannot guarantee that ILL requests will be fulfilled. The statewide delivery system has been suspended until further notice. Faculty, staff and students may continue to place Interlibrary Loan requests and we will do our best to fulfill those requests.
  • Due to the exceptional circumstances we face, we are temporarily instituting Student Scan on Demand. We will try our best to ensure that students have access to portions of books or articles in our physical collections for classwork and research by making digital copies. Should you need a selection or chapter from an item, please fill out this form and we will scan the selection and email you a PDF version. Please request your highest priority material first.

Due dates and late fees:

  • Overdue fines will be suspended for all items, including interlibrary loan materials. 
  • Due dates for all items will be extended to the end of the semester.

The following services will be unavailable:

  • Borrowing of physical materials including books, DVDs, and ILL requested items
  • Museum passes 
  • All library and RSM Art Gallery events have been canceled

Last Update: March 16, 2020, 4:45 pm EDT 

Electronic Resources: Available 24/7 both on and off campus!

Bentley Library electronic resources are available 24/7 to all Bentley students, faculty and staff whether you are on or off campus.

Your Bentley email address and network password will grant you access to our databases, electronic journals, streaming films, and ebook collections.

What's Available:

Research Help

Reference & Research Help
You can get research help from a librarian in the following ways - no appointment needed!
Email refdesk@bentley.edu
 Text 781.728.0511
 Live Chat Chat with a Reference Librarian
Research Help Hours (Summer 2020)
Sunday 2:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Monday - Thursday 8:30 am - 7:00 pm
Friday 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday Closed
All Hours are in Eastern Time

Last Update: May 14, 2020, 4:00 pm EDT 

Research Consultations: Research Help by Appointment

Research Consultations are scheduled one-on-one meetings with a reference librarian. You can also schedule these consultations for a small group. Consultations usually last 30 minutes and take place during Reference Librarian Hours as listed above. 48 hours advanced notice required.

Research Guides

Research Guides are resources created by Bentley Librarians to guide you through research. These guides will contain a map of best bet resources of where to find information and search tips to make the research process easier. A research guide may include a list of relevant databases to search in, suggested search terms, recommended book titles, lists of websites, and more. Browse our list of Research Guides to see if one has been created for your class, a subject area, or a topic you are researching.

Frequently Asked Questions

Bentley Librarians keep a database of some of the most Frequently Asked Questions (and answers!) by the Bentley Community. Browse our FAQs to see if your question has already been answered! 

Looking for other assistance with coursework?

Check out this list of the various learning labs on campus including the Trading Room, ACELAB, CMT, and CLIC Lab for service hours and contact information:

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) relies on the cooperation of libraries around the world to share information and materials. Due to the Coronavirus, service at many libraries may be impacted. The statewide delivery system has been suspended until further notice. As such, Interlibrary Loan service may be limited and there may be delays in delivery of items. 

Bentley students, faculty, and staff may continue to place Interlibrary Loan requests for articles and book chapters and we will do our best to fulfill those requests.

Please contact the Interlibrary Loan department via email (interlibloan@bentley.edu) with any questions. 

Last Update: March 17, 2020, 9:20 am EDT 

Services for Faculty

Additional services for Bentley faculty:

Research Instruction Sessions

If you have any questions about a scheduled research instruction session please contact the librarian who is meeting with your class or Matt Van Sleet, Research Instruction Coordinator.

If you’d like to schedule a new session, please fill out the research instruction request form

Purchase Requests

Purchasing and processing of materials may be impacted due to changes in operations both at Bentley and with our vendors. Please reach out to your department's Library Liaison with purchase requests as usual. If you have inquiries about streaming films, please contact Matt Van Sleet.

Course Reserves

Faculty can continue to request book chapters, selections, or articles from our physical collection be added to their blackboard site by visiting (http://library.bentley.edu/services/faculty.asp#faculty/course_reserves.html). We will be relaxing our copyright policy due to the exceptional circumstances we face.  While we have staff working in the library, we will scan and post what we can.  Please request your highest priority material first.

Temporary Expanded Access to Online Resources

Expanded Access to Online Resources

Due to the sudden transition for many educational institutions to an online-only format, various vendors and publishers have temporarily expanded access to their online content. We have put together a list of some of the resources we have learned are offering this access.

If you are looking for an electronic version of your course textbook please check with your professor to see if they have already arranged access. You can also use the special e-book access link on the Bentley University Bookstore's website to search for your textbook: https://bentley.bncollege.com/shop/bentley/home

Expanded Database Content Access via Bentley Databases

Temporary Access to SAGE Collections - available until June 21, 2020

Free Online Access to Ebooks and Articles

If you are looking for an electronic version of your course textbook please check with your professor to see if they have already arranged access. You can also use the special e-book access link on the Bentley University Bookstore's website to search for your textbook: https://bentley.bncollege.com/shop/bentley/home. If you don't find what you need there, check the free e-book options listed below. Contact us if you need assistance.