LibGuides: eBooks & Audiobooks: Home

Location and Access

Bentley Library has fiction, nonfiction, and scholarly books and audiobooks for screen viewing and/or download. They may be found by using the Library Search, or using the library databases listed below.

If you have questions about content or use of our resources, please contact us at our Research Help page, or visit the Reference Desk on the Main Level of the library.

Suggestions for new titles are welcome at our Suggest a Purchase page.

OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks

Borrow from OverDrive. Read with Libby.

Our OverDrive collection contains popular fiction and nonfiction eBooks and audiobooks with new titles regularly added. Read or listen to recent bestsellers or classics using the Libby for OverDrive app on your smart device!

OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
The OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks collection provides fiction and non-fiction eBooks and audiobooks, and can be used with the Libby mobile app and/or your preferred device. Formats include OverDrive Read, ePub, and Kindle for ebooks, and OverDrive Listen for audiobooks.

Libby for OverDrive: eBooks & Audiobooks
Get started using the Libby app on your smart device to borrow and read eBooks and audiobooks from our OverDrive collection.

Audiobooks

Audiobooks on CD
This complete list of audiobooks on CD in the Library’s collection is located near the Popular Reading section on the Main Level of the library.

Skillport This link opens in a new window
Skillport (formerly Books 24x7) offers business-related audiobooks about consumer electronics, data analytics, finance, information technology, health and wellness, productivity, and more.
OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
The OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks collection provides popular fiction and non-fiction audiobooks, and can be used with the Libby mobile app and/or your preferred device. Formats include mp3 and OverDrive Listen for audiobooks.
O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Media offers audiobooks on leading technology and business topics.

eBooks

The library has multiple ebook databases, containing fiction, nonfiction, and scholarly books for screen viewing and/or download. If you have questions about content or use of the databases below, please contact us at our Research Help page, or visit the Reference Desk on the Main Level of the library.

Skillport This link opens in a new window
Skillport (formerly Books 24x7) offers business-related books in the areas of analytics, finance, health and wellness, human resources, information technology, management, marketing, and more. The collection also includes exam study guides and software manuals for business and statistical applications such as SAS and SPSS.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central (ProQuest) Academic Complete collection contains humanities, social sciences, and sciences ebooks in multiple languages. Academic books, software manuals, language learning materials, and more are included. Titles may be downloaded.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks allows users to search, view and print the full text of electronic books.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale EBooks provides digital reference books on topics such as business, the environment, history, literature, geography, science, sociology, and technology. Search the database, or browse by collection or title.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences Online This link opens in a new window
The International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences "provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields and discusses history, current trends and future directions."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides unlimited access to downloadable selected scholarly books from academic publishers.
OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
The OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks collection provides fiction and non-fiction eBooks and audiobooks, and can be used with the Libby mobile app and/or your preferred device. Formats include OverDrive Read, ePub, and Kindle for ebooks, and OverDrive Listen for audiobooks.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the foremost historical dictionary of the English language. It provides authoritative spellings, etymology and definitions, and traces word usage from first recorded occurrence to the modern period. Search and browse by subject, part of speech, language of origin, region, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers downloadable scholarly books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Media offers ebooks on leading technology and business topics.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Salem Press and its imprints publish electronic reference books covering topics in business, health, history, literature and science.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a collaboration of world scholars, containing entries on philosophy and related disciplines.

Online Free Audiobooks and eBooks

Getty Publications Virtual Library
Getty is a leading global arts organization committed to exhibiting, conserving, and understanding the world’s artistic and cultural heritage. This collection provides 300 full-text books to read online and/or download for free. Topics include art, architecture, conservation, preservation, and more.
Google Books
Google Books contains freely available ebooks in the public domain. For ebooks still under copyright, excerpts and purchase links are provided.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of academic and research institutions that preserves and provides lawful full-text access to over 17 million items digitized from libraries around the world. Books are available in full or limited (search-only) view, depending on the title.

Internet Archive/Open Library
Internet Archive is a freely available digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts. It also houses Open Library, containing books available for online borrowing by registering for a free account.
LibriVox
Free audiobooks in the public domain, narrated by volunteers and searchable by author, title and subject.
Online Books Page
A website providing access to free ebooks. Browsing and keyword searching are available.
Project Gutenberg
This collection contains books and audiobooks whose copyrights have expired and are now in the public domain. Use the Quick Search box or browse by category to find works of interest.