Gender Studies Research

Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Commons provides open access to the research and scholarship of scholars at institutions around the world. FGSSC contains research materials such as dissertations, preprints, final (pre-publication) manuscripts, conference proceedings, and other works.

Freely available, public domain, and open license resources, including journals, courses, books, and more.

A huge collection of online resources on many gender-related topics. Maintained by the University of Southern California, Santa Barbara.
NOTE: This page is not maintained by Bentley University. Some links may not be active.

News stories of interest to women. Click "News" to see collections of articles by subject. Articles are written by journalists and fact-checked.

This collection guide from the Bentley University Archives, organized by subject, provides information about archival materials related to the history of women at Bentley.

The ACLU defends individual freedoms and rights enshrined in the U.S. Constitution. Click "Issues" to learn about women's rights in education, the workplace, reproductive freedom, and more.

Social science research in the forms of fact sheets, reports, articles, and policy information on topics in the areas of adolescent sexual health, reproductive health, and relationships. You can also create customized tables or maps of data.

Click "Publications" to view reports on topics such as poverty, work and family, political participation, and the status of women in different states and countries.

Research on women in the developing world. Click “Work & Impact” for a list of their research areas, and look under “Publications” for a wealth of reports, policy briefs, toolkits, and position papers.

A collection of online statistics sources, including polling, political and health data. Compiled by Karla Strand, Gender and Women's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin.

An interdisciplinary research center at University of Minnesota. Their research includes topics such as Title IX, media representations, and women and coaching. Click "Projects" and/or "Research" to see current and archived research.

WomanStats collects, codes, and produces reports on women in countries with a population of 200,000 or more. WomanStats Database is the largest cross-national compilation of data, statistics, and maps on the status of women worldwide. Organized by country, the database includes 350+ variables for 176 countries. The datasets are free, but users must register for an account.

Formerly known as the American Association of University Women. Click on “Research” under the “Learn” tab to find a wealth of studies, fact sheets, articles, and other research on topics such as the gender pay gap, sexual harassment on college campuses, and public policy.

Look under "Knowledge" for a series of reports on adolescent girls relating to topics such as education, health, and economy

Many resources on topics from women in policing to clinic violence. Click on “Research Center,” any topic under “Our Work,” or “Reports & Fact Sheets” under “Newsroom.” The FMF also publishes Ms. Magazine.

A national youth organization for girls. Look in the "Resources" section to find fact and resource sheets, and the "Take Action" section to find advocacy statements and information about legislation.

NEDA provides resources for those affected by eating disorders. Useful research resources can be found by selecting “Learn" from the navigation menu.

A women’s rights and political advocacy organization founded in 1966. Choose from the list of “issues” or “hot topics,” or find a local chapter.

This organization advocates for gender equity through law and public policy. Click “Our Issues” to see the areas the Center concentrates in (such as education and judges & courts), and “Our Resources” to find reports, toolkits, and presentations.

This organization promotes women’s political participation. Click on “Research & Resources” for statistics and links.
less...

An educational women’s studies professional organization. Includes a directory of campus women’s centers and women’s studies programs, as well as research links and statistics.

Under “Research,” you will find research on topics like youth sports, homophobia in sports, and eating disorders among female athletes.

A large collection of resources on rape and sexual violence. Click “Projects” to learn about their initiatives, and “Publications” for a wealth of fact sheets and other resources.

Click “Publications” for materials like resource lists, fact sheets, and policy briefs. Click “Key Resources” for applied research papers, online collections, and grant information.

RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network) is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization. RAINN created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline (800.656.HOPE, online.rainn.org y rainn.org/es) in partnership with more than 1,000 local sexual assault service providers across the country and operates the DoD Safe Helpline for the Department of Defense. RAINN also carries out programs to prevent sexual violence, help survivors, and ensure that perpetrators are brought to justice.

White Ribbon is committed to building a world free of all forms of gender-based violence and discrimination. See reports and issue briefs at this link.

Visit the "Press Room" section for recent news on reproductive rights. The "Resources" section "aims to be the world's foremost source of free, downloadable information on reproductive rights law and policy."

The website of the National Abortion & Reproduction Rights Action League provides a guide to government and laws pertaining to reproduction. And click on “Publications” under the “Media” tab for fact sheets and a report on the status of reproductive rights in each state.
less...

Health information, services, locations, and other information about reproductive health.

Formerly the Center for Fathers, Families, and Workforce Development. Founded “in order to provide parenting and workforce development services to low-income fathers.”

A support organization for male survivors of sexualized violence. Aside from resources for survivors, look under “Myths and Facts” for information about male sexual victimization, and under “News and Events” for bibliographies, articles, and web resources.

An advocacy organization that brings together NGOs and UN agencies from around the world, focusing on men’s and boys’ role in advancing gender equity. Look for information under “News & Events” and “Resources.”

“A comprehensive bibliography of writing on men, masculinities, gender, and sexualities.” Enter search terms or browse through categories like “Fatherhood and Families” and “Race, Ethnicity, Countries and Cultures.”

“Pro-feminist, LGBTQ+ affirmative, anti-racist and anti-classist,” this organization provides reports and guides under “Resources.”