LibGuides: Accounting Research: Accounting Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Why use Reference Books

Locating background information in general and subject specific encyclopedias and dictionaries and other reference resources will help you put information in context.

Consulting reference materials will help you:

Get an overview of the subject.
Note key concepts/developments.
Identify significant authors.
See a chronology/timeline.
Discern connections/interrelationships with other developments.
Develop a list of search terms.
Use the bibliographies to locate other information on your topic.

Reference Books

These are hardcopy reference books available at the Bentley Library. Search the Library's Catalog to find more titles of interest or ask a Librarian who can recommend resources for your specific topic:

A Dictionary of Accounting by Jonathan Law (Editor)
Call Number: REF HF5621 .D53 2016
The International Dictionary of Accounting Acronyms
Call Number: REF HF5621 .S543 2013
U.S. GAAP financial statements: Best practices in presentation and disclosure
Call Number: REF HF5681 .B2 A35 [Annual]
Continuation of the title Accounting Trends & Techniques.
Accounting Best Practices by Steven M. Bragg
Call Number: HF58613 .B818 2013
ISBN: 9781118404140
The Interpretation of Financial Statements by Steven M. Bragg
Call Number: HF5681 .B2 B64 2015
ISBN: 9781938910531

Books24x7 (Skillport) This link opens in a new window
Skillsoft Books 24x7 offers full-text books on business, finance, information technology, health and wellness, and productivity. Also included: study guides for exams such as the CFA, and software manuals for business and statistics applications such as SAS and SPSS. Think of this resource as a keyword searchable collection of Accounting Handbooks.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning provides access to over 6,000 courses and short videos taught by industry experts and related to business and technology. Courses are browsable by subject area, topic, or learning path, or searchable using keywords. Courses can be viewed on a computer and/or downloaded to a mobile device. Users may choose to link a personal LinkedIn account to the LinkedIn Learning account, or leave them unlinked.