LibGuides: AC215 Library Research Guide: Company Research

Finding Company Information

Finding Company Information (Watch Time: 3 minutes 42 Seconds)

Throughout this tutorial we'll be discussing strategies on how to conduct basic company research using resources available at the Bentley Library. We will cover how to start searching for the most credible information about a company and how to locate key financial information.

Company Research Databases

Company information can be found in a variety of sources. Your company's website will offer a lot of information that you will find helpful as you complete your assignment. The following collection of resources include various company profiles, financial information, stock information, and more that can also inform your understanding of your company:

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect offers comprehensive data on companies, industries, demographics, consumer lifestyles, people, and jobs. Among its specialized offerings are: information on over 245 million domestic and international public and private companies; First Research industry profiles; Nielsen PRIZM demographic and consumer reports; North American census data, searchable by geographic area; residential contact and lifestyle data for U.S. residents; and job listings for companies in the U.S. and Canada. Users may also access D&B Key Business Ratios from this database.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business: Insights provides in-depth information on U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Included are company and industry profiles, financial data, investment reports, business periodicals, interactive charting and comparison tools, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, formerly called LexisNexis Academic, contains a variety of news and specialized sources. Users may search for: regional, national, and international news publications and wire services; US state and federal cases and statutes; company profile and dossier information by company name or ticker symbol; country profiles, risk information, and news; patent information; and biographical and news information on public figures. Topical pages include Business, Criminal Justice, and Political Science. Users may register for an account to save searches and bookmark documents, add notes, collaborate with other users, and set up alerts to track new content.
MarketLine Reports via Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Company Profiles include key company information such as top competitors, major products and services, and revenue and SWOT analyses. MarketLine Industry Profiles include information about market value, segmentation and forecasts, Porter’s Five Forces analysis, and leading companies in the industry.
S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage provides access to S&P's Company and Industry Surveys, Stock Guides, Dividend Records, Mutual Fund Ratings, Corporation Records and much more. Industry surveys are updated twice yearly and provide key data on more than 50 industries from Health Care to Telecommunications.
Value Line Research Center - 6 user limit This link opens in a new window
Value Line Research Center includes online access to Value Line's full-page and summary data reports covering stocks, mutual funds, options, convertible securities, and proprietary special situation stocks. The database also includes stock quotes (delayed 15 minutes), company and industry news and graphs, market updates, portfolio tracking with alerts, real-time Value Line Analyst Supplements, and investment education. Simultaneous access is limited to six users.