LibGuides: Teaching Approaches: Learning Science & Effective Online Teaching Strategies

Learning Sciences

This section provides resources on the scientific study of how people learn, focusing on cognitive, emotional, and social processes. It includes foundational theories, innovative pedagogies, and practical applications for enhancing teaching and learning.

Learning Sciences Books & Articles

How People Learn by John D. Bransford (Editor); Ann L. Brown (Editor); Rodney R. Cocking (Editor);
Call Number: Stacks ; LB1060 .H672 2000
ISBN: 9780309070362
Publication Date: 2000
TOPIC: Foundational theories and applications in learning sciences.
First released in the Spring of 1999, How People Learn has been expanded to show how the theories and insights from the original book can translate into actions and practice, now making a real connection between classroom activities and learning behavior. This edition includes far-reaching suggestions for research that could increase the impact that classroom teaching has on actual learning.
The Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences by R. Keith Sawyer (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781107033252
Publication Date: 2014
TOPIC: Comprehensive overview of learning sciences research and its implications for teaching.
The interdisciplinary field of the learning sciences encompasses educational psychology, cognitive science, computer science, and anthropology, among other disciplines. The Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences is the definitive introduction to this innovative approach to teaching, learning, and educational technology.
International Handbook of the Learning Sciences by Frank Fischer (Editor); Cindy E. Hmelo-Silver (Editor); Susan R. Goldman (Editor); Peter Reimann (Editor)
Call Number: NOT AVAILABLE AT THIS LIBRARY
ISBN: 9781315617572
Publication Date: 2018
TOPIC: Global perspectives and methodologies in learning sciences.
The International Handbook of the Learning Sciences is a comprehensive collection of international perspectives on this interdisciplinary field. The three sections of the handbook capture, respectively: foundational contributions from multiple disciplines and the ways in which the learning sciences has fashioned these into its own brand of use-oriented theory, design, and evidence; learning sciences approaches to designing, researching, and evaluating learning broadly construed; and the methodological diversity of learning sciences research, assessment, and analytic approaches.

Teachers as Designers of Learning Environments The Importance of Innovative Pedagogies
TOPIC: Innovative pedagogical approaches and their impact on learning environments.
Teachers as Designers of Learning Environments: The importance of Innovative Pedagogies provides a snapshot of innovative pedagogies used in classrooms around the world.
more...less...
Paniagua, A. and D. Istance (2018), Teachers as Designers of Learning Environments: The Importance of Innovative Pedagogies, Educational Research and Innovation, OECD Publishing, Paris, https://doi.org/10.1787/9789264085374-en.

Effective Online Teaching Strategies

This section provides resources on effective online teaching strategies and how to appropriately integrate educational technology. It covers methods for fostering student engagement, building online learning communities, and utilizing technology to enhance teaching and learning. The section highlights best practices and research findings to support faculty in creating impactful and innovative online learning experiences.