Company & Competitor Research - GR523-BILH - Fall 2024 (Cross) - LibGuides at Bentley University Library

Find Companies by Industry, Location & More

You can use these databases to look up individual companies and to generate lists of companies using detailed search criteria, such as industry (using NAICS or SIC Code), number of employees, sales, location (country, state, city, zip code), company status (public or private), and more.

Note: NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) industry codes for your research:
• 621493 Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical and Emergency Centers Note: Includes Urgent medical care centers and clinics (except hospitals), freestanding
• 621111 Offices of Physicians (except Mental Health Specialists) Note: incudes walk-in physician offices, clinics and centers
• 622110 General Medical and Surgical Hospitals

Recommended databases for generating lists of companies by industry and geography:

D&B Hoovers - 50 user limit This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Tip: Use this database if you'd like to search for businesses within a specific radius (miles) of an address.

Company Research Databases

These are the best library resources for retrieving a company profile and comprehensive company information. Please note that information may be more difficult to find for private and/or small companies.

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Essentials provides in-depth information on U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Included are company and industry profiles, financial data, investment reports, business periodicals, interactive charting and comparison tools, and more.
MarketLine Reports via Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Company Profiles include key company information such as top competitors, major products and services, and revenue and SWOT analyses.

Search Tip: Click on [Company Profiles]. Enter the company name in the search box and click [Browse]. Locate your company in the list and click on [MarketLine Report]. Reports contain a SWOT analysis (for most public companies).

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides information on over 245 million domestic and international public and private companies.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) and 20,000 non-U.S. public companies (active and inactive). The D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company database is also included.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window

Search Tip: At the top of the Nexis Uni page, click on [Menu], then select [Company Dossier]. Search using the company's name or ticker symbol.

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo provides access to information on private company financials and revenues, private merger and acquisition deals, private firm valuations, private equity deals, venture capital fundings, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, and restructurings.

Related research guide:

Company Research Guide
by Lisa Curtin Last Updated Sep 12, 2024 2864 views this year