The following databases contain articles from thousands of newspapers, magazines, journals, and trade publications. Don't restrict your search to just one database. To view the complete list of library databases, and to filter by subject, go to the Databases A-Z page.
When searching for articles in the library's databases it is important to identify relevant keywords and experiment with a variety of combinations.
These are just a few keyword suggestions - what else can you come up with?
|
"primary care" "primary care clinics" "primary care practice" "primary care physician"
"urgent care" "urgent care clinics"
"retail clinics"
hospitals
telehealth telemedicine
"health care" |
"health care access" "health care coverage"
"health behavior" |
customers or consumers "consumer behavior" patients
"gen z" millennials baby boomers seniors |
trends industry market |
use the names of companies, organizations, or medical conditions as search terms |
The library's databases have different search interfaces, but they share basic search principles. Some of these principles are listed below.
It is good practice to look for the [Advanced Search] option in each database that you use. The advanced search page will usually make it very clear as to how you can control your search using Boolean search techniques, limiters, field searching, etc.
Boolean Searching
Boolean searching is the cornerstone to an effective search strategy. Boolean searching refers to searching using a combination of words and the three Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT. A best practice is to capitalize your Boolean Operators.
For example: "krispy kreme" AND marketing
For example: (adolescents OR teenagers)
For example: dolphins NOT football
Phrase Searching
To search for two or more words in the exact order in which they are entered you should enclose the phrase in quotation marks " ".
For example: "obsessive compulsive disorder"
Truncation
Truncation allows you to search the root form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of a word. Truncation symbols vary by database (check the help screens or ask a Librarian), but are usually one of the below:
* (asterisk)
! (exclamation point)
? (question mark)
For example: advertis* will search for advertise, advertisement, advertising, advertises
Field Searching & Limiters
Each database has a variety of predefined fields or limiters that you can search within. Some examples of fields and limiters are:
