Health Insurance Coverage - GR523-BILH - Fall 2024 (Cross) - LibGuides at Bentley University Library

Massachusetts Health Insurance data

Center for Health Information and Analysis (CHIA)
"The Center for Health Information and Analysis (CHIA) is an independent state agency whose mission is to serve as a steward of Massachusetts health information to promote a more transparent and equitable health care system that effectively serves all residents of the Commonwealth."

Recommended health insurance coverage resources are listed below. Find additional CHIA data—including health care costs and payments, quality and patient safety, and hospital and health system financial performance—at https://www.chiamass.gov/

2023 Massachusetts Health Insurance Survey
"The Massachusetts Health Insurance Survey (MHIS) provides information on health care coverage, access and affordability trends in the Commonwealth as part of CHIA’s Continuing Study on Insurance Coverage, Underinsurance and Uninsurance. "
Enrollment in Health Insurance
"Twice per year, CHIA updates its detailed Enrollment Trends analysis for the most recent two-year period to give researchers and policymakers insight into the market. The latest edition covers the period between September 2021 and September 2023 and includes breakouts by payers and product types in private commercial and public market sectors."
The Center for Health Information and Analysis (CHIA)
Find additional CHIA data—including health care costs and payments, quality and patient safety, and hospital and health system financial performance.

Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)

KFF Search State Health Facts: Health Coverage & Uninsured Indicators
"This category includes data on health insurance status for the population overall and broken down by age, gender, and income. There are also data on specific types of coverage, including employer-sponsored, Medicaid, Medicare, as well as people who are uninsured by demographic characteristics, including age, race/ethnicity, work status, gender, and income. Further information about Medicaid and Medicare beneficiaries can be found in their respective categories."

Additional Resources

National Center for Health Statistics: FastStats - Health Insurance Coverage
US Census: Health Insurance
"The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), American Community Survey (ACS), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)."
The State of U.S. Health Insurance in 2022
"Findings from the Commonwealth Fund Biennial Health Insurance Survey".