More details on how to read a record and tips on how to retrieve print materials in the library can be found on the Communications & Writing Research Guide: Finding Books page.
Get started searching in some of these databases for articles! They have lots of different popular and scholarly publications related to language, linguistics, popular culture, and more.
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
What other databases might have material on my topic?
To find other databases relevant to your research topic, visit the Databases A-Z page on the library website. Ask yourself the following question: "Which disciplines or subject areas does my topic involve?" to help yourself figure out which subject specific database to select. You can use the filters at the top of the page to help narrow down your choices.
You can also visit some of our other Research Guides related to a specific discipline or subject areas for suggestions of databases to search:
Google Scholar will allow you to search outside of the library's databases to find information, however not all information you find will be freely available. You can configure Google Scholar to link to Bentley Library's holdings should those articles be available in our collections - visit the Remote Access to Google Scholar research guide for details.