Foster Care & Adoption Services: Industry Reports & Statistics - Honors Capstone Project - Bravo

IBISWorld Industry Reports - National & State reports

IBISWorld Industries and Markets This link opens in a new window
Searchable by industry, keyword, company name, and NAICS code, IBIS World Industries and Markets contains United States and Specialized Industry reports, selected Global Industry reports, and UK Brexit Impact Statements. Industry risk factors can be assessed using US Business Environment Profiles.

Check out the following:

Adoption & Child Welfare Services in the US - 62411 by Tina Fine | March 2023
This industry includes nonresidential social assistance services for children and young adults. Private sector and nonprofit establishments in this industry offer services in the areas of adoption, foster care placement, drug prevention, guidance and self-help, life skills training and positive social development.
- Note: All state reports are also available. When viewing the US profile, use the "State Industry Reports" link on the left side of the page. Then, select the state(s) you are interested in from the drop-down.
Orphanages & Group Homes in the US - 62399 by Tina Fine | March 2024
This industry includes group foster homes, group homes, halfway homes, orphanages and boot camps. While the industry provides some services to adults, these facilities are primarily for children and youth.
- Note: All state reports are also available. When viewing the US profile, use the "State Industry Reports" link on the left side of the page. Then, select the state(s) you are interested in from the drop-down.

Library Database:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest, or choose from dropdowns providing access to information about industries, digital markets, consumer markets, and topics such as media, business, and society. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.

U.S. Government - Statistics & Reports:

National Youth in Transition Database (NYTD)
The Administration for Children and Families (ACF)'s National Youth in Transition Database (NYTD) collects information on youth in foster care, including sex, race, ethnicity, date of birth, and foster care status. It also collects information about the outcomes of those youth who have aged out of foster care. States began collecting data in 2010, and the first data set was submitted in May 2011.
Adoption and Foster Care Analysis and Reporting System (AFCARS)
"AFCARS was established to provide data that would assist in policy development and program management. Data can be used by policymakers at the federal, Tribal, and state levels to assess how many children are in foster care, reasons why they enter, how they exit, and to develop strategies to prevent their unnecessary placement into foster care. Specifically, the data include information about children who enter foster care, their entries and exits, placement details, and foster/adoptive parent information, which makes it possible to identify trends."

Additional Sources:

2022 U.S. Adoption and Foster Care Attitudes Survey
Conducted by The Harris Poll on behalf of The Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption, published February 2022. "Every five years, the Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption surveys Americans to better understand awareness and attitudes toward adoption and foster care, as well as how these perceptions change over time."
Kids Count Data Center
"The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds a nationwide network of state-level KIDS COUNT® (LA INFANCIA CUENTA™) grantees to track the well-being of children in the United States. By providing high-quality data and trend analysis through its KIDS COUNT Data Center, the Foundation seeks to enrich local, state and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children — and to raise the visibility of children's issues through a nonpartisan, evidence-based lens."
Kids Count Data Center: Out of Home Placement data
35 Safety and Risky Behaviors Indicators related to Out of Home Placement