LibGuides: GB320: Sporting Apparel and Goods Stores in the US -- Fall 2018 -- Sections 001, 002, 003 (Flynn, Grusby, & Shepherd; Houston & Amin): Customer Analysis

Who's buying athletic footwear and apparel?

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel offers market research reports covering U.S. and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles.

Search for the following Mintel Reports to find out who is buying athletic wear:

Fitness Clothing – US – October 2014

Men's and Women's Footwear - US - May 2018

Shopping for Men's and Women's Footwear - US - June 2012

Footwear - US - November 2010 ~ *Reasons for Purchasing Athletic Shoes:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest, or choose from dropdowns providing access to information about industries, digital markets, consumer markets, and topics such as media, business, and society. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.

Search for the following Statista Reports to find out what influences purchasing:

Footwear Report 2018 - Athletic Footwear

What's included?

Footwear Market Overview
Segment Overview Athletic Footwear
Market KPI comparison: Revenue, volume sales and growth rate
Regional development including following focus regions and countries: United States, Germany, United Kingdom, China, Latin America, Australia, Turkey and South Africa

Clothing & Apparel ~ Statistics and facts on Clothing, Shoes & Apparel

What's included?

U.S. Apparel and Footwear Consumer Behavior - Statistics & Facts Segment Overview Athletic Footwear
Influences on athletic footwear purchases in the United States 2014
U.S. online shoppers: important criteria when buying fashion online 2017

Where do your customers live?

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now is a comprehensive business and residential research tool. Users can compare the demographics and market potential of United States geographies, produce comprehensive business/residential lists and detailed demographic reports, and utilize a unique mapping tool that ‘visualizes’ trends. Provides access to MOSAIC USA consumer profiles.

DemographicsNow leverages data from the U.S. Census, Consumer Expenditure surveys, Retail Spending reports, and Mosaic Lifestyle market segmentation groupings to create unique comparisons and reports.

Getting started with DemographicsNow

Click on the Demographics Now from the Library's Databases A to Z listing
Start in the Demographics tab
Type a location or choose from the Geography List in the dropdown menu
After you choose the Geography, select a Report Type (e.g., Summary)
Choose a Report Name (e.g., Executive Summary Report with Charts)
Run Report
Other reports of interest include:
- Basic Demographic Comparison Chart
- Demographic Trend Comparison
- Simmons® National Consumer Study
- Experian’s Mosiac© USA Household Comparison
  - (see Mosaic USA Details under Help drop down menu in the upper right hand corner of the screen)

VIDEO: Analyzing Market Size and Demographics

Marketing to Consumers - Online Resources

GfK Mediamark Research & Intelligence. (2017). Sports Clothing -- Amount Spent In Total. Retrieved from MRI Mediamark University Internet Reporter database.

GfK Mediamark Research & Intelligence. (2017). Sports -- How Often Engaged In. Retrieved from MRI Mediamark University Internet Reporter database.

To retrieve the above reports, please register (see above in description) and:

Click Mediamark... above or:
Start at the Library's Databases A-Z page and find and click Mediamark...
Log in
Select University Reporter
Select 2017 GfK Reporter MRI
Scroll to Leisuer/Sports
Scroll to find the appropriate "Sports" and "Sports Clothing" reports

University Reporter Data
Guide on interpreting the data you find in Mediamark University Reporter
Mediamark University Internet Reporter Tutorial
This 15 page PDF document explains how to use the Mediamark University Internet Reporter.
How to Change Default Target Settings
This document provides instructions for how to add ALL available targets to your default target settings.

How to Use the Mediamark database
This series of Video Tutorials is brought to you by Western Washington University librarian, Elizabeth Stephan.
Mediamark Reporter/MRI+ User Guide Definitions
A guide to commonly used terms in the Mediamark/MRI+ databases.
Mediamark Survey of the American Consumer Questionnaires, Technical Guides and Codebooks
View the personal interview questionnaire, product booklet, technical guide (which includes methodology), and codebook (which lists all the variables that are measured and any associated disclosures or explanatory information) used for each survey.