LibGuides: Psychology: DSM-5 & Reference Books

DSM-5

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. DSM-5-TR includes fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR
Call Number: Reference Desk RC455.2.C4 D54 2022
Call Number: Reference Stacks RC455.2.C4 D54 2022

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Specialized subject encyclopedias are good places to explore topics, get overviews of topics and concepts, and identify keywords to use as search terms. Articles in subject encyclopedias are usually written by scholars and will provide a bibliography or suggested reading list to help you continue your research.

Encyclopedias - E-books

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences Online This link opens in a new window

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 4th ed.
Oxford Handbooks - Psychology topics - Ebooks
More than 80 titles from the "Oxford Library of Psychology" series on specific topics (e.g. cyberpsychology, identity, depression, etc.) available online. Click link to browse titles.
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Health Psychology
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences

Encyclopedias and Handbooks - Print

These are selected resources; additional encyclopedias and handbooks are available at the library. Search the catalog or contact the Reference Desk for more help.

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: Reference Stacks BF31 .E52 2000 (8 volumes)
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, 4th edition
Call Number: Reference Stacks BF31 .E52 2010 (4 volumes)
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories
Call Number: Reference Stacks BF31 .E553 2012 ( 2 volumes)
ISBN: 9781441904256
Handbook of Psychology, 2nd edition
Call Number: Reference Stacks BF121 .H213 2013 (12 volumes)
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
Call Number: Reference Stacks BF636 .E52 2004 (3 volumes)
APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Call Number: Reference Stacks HF5548.8 .A684 2011 (3 volumes)
Handbook of Social Psychology, 5th edition
Call Number: Reference Stacks HM1011 .H37 2010 (2 volumes)

Oxford Handbooks - Psychology topics
More than 30 titles from the "Oxford Library of Psychology" series on specific topics (e.g. positive psychology, stress and mental health, cognitive psychology, etc.) are available in the stacks and/or online. Click link to browse titles and get location information.
American Psychological Association - Theories of Psychotherapy series
More than 20 titles from the APA that provide an introduction and overview of the major theoretical models practiced by psychotherapists (e.g. cognitive-behavioral therapy, family therapy, person-centered psychotherapies, etc.). All titles are available in print. Click link to view books and get call numbers.