LibGuides: Media Studies: Finding Multimedia (Videos, Podcasts, &amp; More)

Multimedia available through the Bentley Library

While many videos and other resources may be found using the Bentley Library Search, you may want to dive into searching some specific collections:

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus streams a mix of classic and contemporary feature films that support the Bentley curriculum. Windows users: use the latest versions of Chrome or Firefox. Mac users: use the latest version of Firefox. If prompted, install the Google Widevine Optimizer. (If using Internet Explorer 32-bit, install both Flash and Google Widevine Optimizer at the prompt.)
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides streaming access to documentaries and feature films that support the Bentley curriculum.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a digital, streaming video service which offers thousands of educational films on Humanities & Social Science, Business & Economy, Science & Mathematics, and Health topics. Films on Demand also offers special collections by well known, respected media outlets such as Frontline, CNBC Specials, the Biography Channel, and PBS NewsHour.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is curated for an academic audience and contains a wide range of US and international films on subjects including business, counseling, history, language learning, music, and more. Formats include plays, documentaries, feature films, and US government content from major distributors including CNN, BBC, Dow Jones, and Sony Pictures Classics. Users can create film clips and view transcripts.

Highlights of this collection include:

Content from the BBC including recorded performances from the Royal Shakespeare Company (such as a 2009 production of Hamlet starring David Tennant and Sir Patrick Stewart) and BBC Literary Adaptations (including the 1995 Pride & Prejudice starring Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle and the 2018 adaptation of Les Miserables starring Dominic West, Lily Collins, David Oyelowo, and Olivia Colman).
The Great Speeches Video Series which includes recordings of notable speeches.

Online Resources: Radio, Podcasts, & Video

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
A project by the Library of Congress and WGBH, the American Archive of Public broadcasting makes available television and audio clips from publicly funded programming for research and educational streaming purposes.
iHeart
Access live radio, podcasts, and music using iHeart and its related app. Also includes music news.
NPR: National Public Radio
Various programs from NPR make transcripts of their radio broadcasts available online.
TED
National Jukebox (Library of Congress)

Watching DVDs at the Bentley Library

While streaming is often the most convenient way to watch films and video, not all films are available for streaming or availability on streaming platforms is unreliable.

The Bentley Library has several External CD/DVD drives that can be connected to a laptop, computer, or TV using a provided USB cable to view DVDs/Blu-Rays. These drives can be checked out from Library Services with your Bentley ID for loan periods of either 4 hours or 7 days!

You can also watch films on the DVD players located in the Bowles Room on the lower level of the library.