Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is designed to assist students with their research in GLS101: Globalization.
Image Credit: NASA/NOAA/GOES Project (n.d.). Satellite view of the Americas on Earth Day [Photo]. Retrieved from https://www.nasa.gov/content/satellite-view-of-the-americas-on-earth-day
Places to start exploring ideas and topics:
The database Academic OneFile offers a Topic Finder tool as well as the opportunity to browse by discipline to find various subjects and articles to give you an idea of some of the academic and popular research articles on the topic.
Each week, the CQ Researcher examines an issue of compelling public interest. All CQ reports include an abstract, chronology, extensive bibliography and notes, and an outlook. A sidebar includes reports related to the latest topic, and the full text of past reports can be searched via the CQ search function or the cumulative index.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers social and political issues with access to primary and secondary source material including journal articles, national and global news sources, pro/con viewpoint essays, videos, podcasts, and more. Includes full-text access to the Opposing Viewpoints book series.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more to explain the historical and contemporary conditions necessary to understand global issues, conflicts and events.
World News Digest
World News Digest is a domestic and international news database covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. World News Digest is updated twice weekly and includes a searchable hourly newsfeed. Its internal hyperlinks allow researchers to follow a story ahead and back in time, and lead to just the background information they need to understand its significance.
Reference & Research Help Summer 2021
|Research Help Hours (Summer 2021)
||Monday - Thursday
|12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
||8:30 am - 9:00 pm
||8:30 am - 4:00 pm
||10:00 am - 6:00 pm
|All Hours are in Eastern Time. Hours are subject to change on holidays or for unforeseen circumstances. For up-to-date information, check the online calendar.
Research Consultations: Research Help by Appointment
Research Consultations are scheduled one-on-one meetings with a reference librarian. You can also schedule these consultations for a small group. Consultations usually last 30 minutes and take place during Reference Librarian Hours as listed above. 48 hours advanced notice required.
Research Guides are resources created by Bentley Librarians to guide you through research. These guides will contain a map of best bet resources of where to find information and search tips to make the research process easier. A research guide may include a list of relevant databases to search in, suggested search terms, recommended book titles, lists of websites, and more. Browse our list of Research Guides to see if one has been created for your class, a subject area, or a topic you are researching.
Frequently Asked Questions
Bentley Librarians keep a database of some of the most Frequently Asked Questions (and answers!) by the Bentley Community. Browse our FAQs to see if your question has already been answered!
Other Relevant Research Guides