This research guide aims to be a list of potential Data & Statistics Sources where you can begin your research. This list is not comprehensive, but hopes to offer a starting point in beginning to track down data that might be useful for your research. Use the Table of Contents to jump to specific subject areas within this guide, however you should start by reviewing the resources listed under "General Sources".
Here are some additional ideas of places that you can look to find data:
As with any source of information, whether it be a book, article, or other item, it is always important to evaluate the source - check where your data was sourced and any methodologies provided.
Contact a librarian for assistance in locating other potential data sources.
Compiled by the U.S. Census, International Statistical Agencies provides links to the official statistical agencies for countries of the world (note: some sites may not provide content in English). Scroll to the bottom of the page to see the full list of countries. Free resource.
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest, or choose from dropdowns providing access to information about industries, digital markets, consumer markets, and topics such as media, business, and society. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.
The U.S. Census provides demographic and economic data from the following surveys and censuses: American Community Survey, County Business Patterns, Decennial Census, Economic Census, and others. Free resource.
United Nations Data contains official statistics, estimates and projections produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations. Domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. Free resource.
World Development Indicators is a compilation of internationally comparable statistical metrics related to global development and the fight against poverty. The database contains time series indicators for more than 200 countries and over 40 country groups. Data for many indicators spans more than 50 years.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint provides political and economic analysis, forecasts, and data. Our subscription includes global and regional coverage as well as country analysis for 50 countries. Special curated themes allow users to browse the latest EIU coverage on those topics. An archive of past EIU reports (beginning with reports published in 1996) is also available.
Euromonitor Passport provides business intelligence on selected Industries, Countries & Consumers, Companies, and Geographies, and comprehensive tools for analysis across datasets. Each category includes in-depth reports, analyst comments, statistics and external sources. New reports, analyses and comments are added daily, while industry reports are updated annually. Historical and forecasted date coverage varies by country, within a broad range of 1977 to five-year projections. Users will have to fill out a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor. Faculty & Staff members please list your department under "Course".
Trading Room
The Trading Room has additional sources of information which can provide data. To find out more about the Trading Room offerings and their hours of operation see:
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX) provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and household characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau. Free resource.
Euromonitor Passport provides business intelligence on selected Industries, Countries & Consumers, Companies, and Geographies, and comprehensive tools for analysis across datasets. Each category includes in-depth reports, analyst comments, statistics and external sources. New reports, analyses and comments are added daily, while industry reports are updated annually. Historical and forecasted date coverage varies by country, within a broad range of 1977 to five-year projections. Users will have to fill out a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor. Faculty & Staff members please list your department under "Course".
MRI-Simmons Insights provides access to consumer demographic, psychographic, brand preference, and media data from the Simmons National Consumer Survey. Customizable demographic profile and crosstab reports reveal relationships between purchasing behavior and consumer demographics, interests, and preferences. This database is limited to 20 simultaneous users; please log out when you are done with your session. Learn more about how to use MRI-Simmons Insights by visiting our MRI-Simmons Insights: How-To Guide.
The U.S. Census provides demographic and economic data from the following surveys and censuses: American Community Survey, County Business Patterns, Decennial Census, Economic Census, and others. Free resource.