LibGuides: AC:701 &amp; AC:421 Internship For Credit (Boss): Determining Quality & Source Type

Publication Type

Types of Publications:

Blogs
Newspapers
Magazines
Trade Journals/Practitioner Journals
Academic Scholarly Journals
Academic Scholarly Peer reviewed Journals (Refereed).
Books
Chapter of book
Dissertation/Thesis
Working Paper/White paper

For serial publications (i.e. Newspapers, Magazines & Journals), use Ulrich's or Cabell's (see below) to determine the quality of the publication you are looking at.

Refereed, Acceptance Rate & Impact Factor

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb is source of detailed information on more than 900 subject areas in 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, and reviews written by librarians.
Cabells This link opens in a new window
Cabell's Directories is a source of information about journals including accounting titles. Cabell's provides authors and researchers with contact information, submission guidelines, readership, manuscript styles, acceptance rates, and review types. Search indexes include topic area and acceptance rate.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides ISI Impact factors and rankings for journals indexed in the JCR Science and Social Sciences Editions from 1997 to the present. Users with individual accounts need to search at least once every six months to keep the account active.

Document Type (Type of Article)

Types of articles:

Literature Review
Original Research/Research Study.
Bibliography
Business Case
Case Study
Commentary
Conference Paper/Proceeding
Correspondence
Dissertation/Thesis
Editorial
Essay
Feature Article
Government & Official Document
Industry Report
Interview
Letter To The Editor
Speech/Lecture
Standards & Practice Guidelines
Working Paper/Pre-print

For assistance identifying a research study, please take a look at this presentation...Components of a Scholarly Article. These slides will provide you with an overview of the most common elements found in most scholarly research studies.

For assistance identifying a literature review, please take a look at the Bentley Library's How do I write a Literature Review? FAQ response.

Determining Quality: Ask questions!

Is the author identified?
What are the author's credentials? Education? Work experience?
Has the author written other sources about this topic? (body of work)
Does the article cite credible sources in the bibliography?
Is the article cited in any other articles?
How current is the article?
Who is the publisher? (for example: academic organization/association, research institute, university, scholarly or popular press)

AC:701 & AC:421 Internship For Credit (Boss): Determining Quality & Source Type

ASK YOURSELF: Who, What, When, Where & Why?

Publication Type

Refereed, Acceptance Rate & Impact Factor

Document Type (Type of Article)

Determining Quality: Ask questions!