U.S. Government Research

The official website of the President of the United States contains a wealth of information: videos of presidential speeches and briefings, the president's weekly radio address, biographies of the president, vice-president and White House staff, the text of executive orders, memoranda, and proclamations, a section on the president's issues and much more.

This website provides information about the executive branch including information on the executive departments and more.

This collection of presidential documents and audio and video files from UC Santa Barbara contains campaign speeches, inaugural addresses, speeches to Congress, Executive Orders, presidential debates, Economic Reports of the Presidents, radio addresses, and many other types of presidential communications and documents.

Compilation of official presidential documents such as remarks, statements, executive orders, memoranda, etc. Documents available online 1992-present.

Browse or search the digitized public papers of Presidents Herbert Hoover through Bill Clinton from the University of Michigan Digital Library.

Browse the electronic version of the papers of Presidents George H.W. Bush through Barack Obama from the Government Printing Office.

This website from the National Archives allows users to search the websites of the official presidential libraries. See this page for more information about presidential libraries: Presidential Libraries and Museums of the National Archives

This is the freely available electronic version of the Federal Register, the journal of the government in the United States. The Federal Register publishes proposed and final versions of administrative regulations and rules from the federal agencies. You can search by departments, agencies, topics, and more to find current news, proposals, and other documents.

Formerly Thomas.gov, Congress.gov allows users to search and browse the legislative information of the federal government, including bills and resolutions, the Congressional Record, schedules and calendars, committee information, presidential nominations, and treaties. Coverage varies in terms of years available.

The official website of the House of Representatives provides detailed information on bills and reports,votes, committees and committee hearings, and floor proceedings.

The official website is a great source of information on the Senate, including committee membership and history, statistical information on senators, legislation, and votes, the full text of bills and resolutions, and transcripts of Supreme Court confirmation hearings.

A record of the proceedings and debates of Congress while it is in session. Available from 1994-present online from the GPO. Prior to 1994, users can look at the Congressional Record (Bound Edition) digitized by the GPO and Library of Congress (Years Available: 1873-2017).

Website which will let you set up alerts and track legislation in Congress. Can also follow particular bills, Congress members, and more.

Reports created by the Congressional Research Service for members of Congress on a variety of topics ranging from healthcare, immigration, appropriations, education and more.

The CBO's economists and analysts provide nonpartisan, independent analysis on proposed legislation in Congress and other budget-related information. Reports and cost estimates are made available on their website.

Provides data on congressional roll call votes throughout history. Can look at specific votes, voting history of particular members of Congress, and more.

The official website of the Supreme Court of the United States. Find opinions, oral arguments, calendars, case documents, rules, and information about the Supreme Court including biographies of justices.

Includes information on the federal courts in the United States including court records, judges, statistics, reports, and more.

Allows users to browse US Court Opinions from Appellate, District, Bankruptcy, and National courts.